Stearns and Foster Comparison and Review

Disclosure: This site receives a payment from US Mattress, Sears, Macy’s or Wayfair when you purchase a product using any links to that company in this article

Stearns & Foster is a luxury brand of mattress made by the same company that does Tempurpedic and Sealy. It functions as the “high end” of the Sealy brand. They tend to be more expensive than the average mattress, and it’s somewhat unclear whether it’s worth the price. In this article, I’ll help comparison shop for Stearns and Foster (since they’re sold under different names at different retailers) and give an overall review of the brand.

Stearns & Foster Comparison

It’s somewhat difficult to compare Stearns & Foster, not just because they’re sold under different names everywhere, but because they’re a “MAP” product, meaning there is a Minimum Advertised Price retailers are allowed to sell them at. So, you’ll generally find them at that minimum price. Some retailers have that as roughly the normal retail price, and others will have a “list” price that is double the MAP price, and perpetually have it on a “50% off sale.” Regardless, you’re unlikely to do better than the minimum price.

So, as you’re comparison shopping, consider things like the delivery charge, how quickly they can deliver, the exchange policy and sales tax (US Mattress doesn’t charge it in most of the country, for example) to help break the tie.

Below is the comparison chart at several major retailers.

LineupUS MattressSearsMacy'sWayfairBloomingdales
EstateAddison Grace Luxury FirmHutsonville Luxury FirmGarrick Luxury FirmCandidate I FirmAronoff Luxury Firm
Addison Grace Luxury Cushion FirmHutsonville Luxury Cushion FirmGarrick Luxury Cushion FirmCandidate II Cushion FirmAronoff Luxury Cushion Firm
Addison Grace Luxury PlushHutsonville Luxury Plush-Candidate III PlushAronoff Luxury Plush
Addison Grace Luxury Cushion Firm Euro PillowtopHutsonville Luxury Cushion Firm Euro PillowtopGarrick Luxury Cushion Firm Euro PillowtopCandidate IV Firm PillowtopAronoff Luxury Cushion Firm Euro Pillowtop
Addison Grace Luxury Plush Euro PillowtopHutsonville Luxury Plush PillowtopGarrick Luxury Plush Euro PillowtopCandidate V Plush PillowotpAronoff Luxury Plush Euro Pillowtop
Bella Claire Ultra FirmMcKee Luxury Ultra FirmPalace Luxury Ultra FirmBridle III Extra FirmBridlegate Luxury Ultra Firm
Bella Claire Luxury FirmMcKee Luxury FirmPalace Luxury FirmBridle I FirmBridlegate Luxury Firm
Bella Claire PlushMcKee Luxury PlushPalace Luxury PlushBridle II PlushBridlegate Luxury Plush
Bella Claire Luxury Firm Euro PillowtopMcKee Luxury Firm Euro PillowtopPalace Luxury Firm Euro PillowtopBridle IV Firm PillowtopBridlegate Luxury Cushion Firm Euro Pillowtop
Bella Claire Plush Euro PillowtopMcKee Luxury Plush Euro PillowtopPalace Luxury Plush Euro Pillowtop-Bridlegate Luxury Plush Pillowtop
Lux Estate-Eastwood Ultra FirmBelleville Luxury Ultra Firm--
Gabriella Marie Luxury FirmMiddletown Luxury FirmEverwood Luxury FirmMcAlpin FirmRookwood Luxury Firm
Fiona Rose Luxury Cushion Firm Euro PillowtopPineville Luxury Firm Euro PillowtopGotland Luxury Firm Euro PillowtopGallium Firm PillowtopCincinnatian Luxury Cushion Firm Euro Pillowtop
Eileen Leigh Luxury Plush Euro PillowtopOwentown Luxury PlushSalzburg Luxury Plush Euro PillowtopPompano Plush PillowtopWelsh Hills Luxury Plush Euro Pillowtop
Lux Estate HybridLola Marie Luxury FirmRichlawn Luxury Firm-Shylah Firm-
Kenna Rose Luxury Cushion FirmShivley Luxury Cushion Firm-Alwyn Cushion FirmLakelet Luxury Firm
Mary Leigh Luxury PlushWhitesburg Luxury Plush-Magnes Plush-
ReserveReserve No. 3 Luxury Firm Euro PillowtopReserve No. 3 Luxury Firm Euro PillowtopReserve No. 03 Luxury Firm Euro Pillowtop-Reserve No. 3 Luxury Firm Euro Pillowtop
Reserve No. 2 Luxury Plush Euro PillowtopReserve No. 2 Luxury Plush Euro PillowtopReserve No. 02 Luxury Plush Euro Pillowtop-Reserve No. 2 Luxury Plush Euro Pillowto
Reserve No. 1 Luxury Ultra Plush Euro PillowtopReserve No. 1 Luxury Ultra Plush Euro PillowtopReserve No. 01 Luxury Ultra Plush Euro Pillowtop-Reserve No. 1 Luxury Ultra Plush Euro Pillowtop

If you saw a Stearns & Foster at a retailer not on the above list, contact me through the form on my comparison shopping page and I’ll match it to one of the rows on the above chart.

Stearns & Foster Review

Previously, I was not a big fan of Stearns and Foster. They made some changes to this year’s lineup which I think bodes well for the lineup. Previously, S&F mattresses focused on using “fancy-sounding” material, like “silk-infused” fabric, which isn’t actually any better than any other type of fabric. It just ends up being more expensive for the sake of “sounding luxurious.” This year (2017 as I’m writing this), they’re using more quality materials. For example, using a Tencel fabric rather than a “silk infused” fabric, and not using “Mongolian Horse Hair” like older models had.

Additionally, their average customer satisfaction ratings have been improving. On review aggregation site, Sleep Like The Dead, S&F has increased their average customer satisfaction from 58% to 62%. While that is still a fairly low number, it’s trending in the right direction.

The thing that hasn’t changed is their price. They’re still a “MAP” product, as mentioned above, so it’s difficult to get a good deal on S&F. On the high end of the lineup, you’re paying a lot of extra money for features which are somewhat redundant. There’s only so much stuff you can pack into a mattress before you hit the point of diminishing returns. The higher end Stearns & Foster mattresses have definitely hit that limit.

Conclusion

If of all the mattresses you tried out in the showroom, a Stearns & Foster was the most comfortable and kept you most supported, and it’s in your price range, it’s a decent mattress. It’s a little on the expensive side for what you get in my opinion, but it’s not too far out of the ballpark. Use my comparison chart to make sure you’re getting the lowest price, and pick the best overall offer (after factoring in tax, delivery, etc).

Disclosure: This site receives a payment from US Mattress, Sears, Macy’s or Wayfair when you purchase a product using any links to that company in this article

Related Articles

Mattress Buying Guide

Mattress Comparison Charts

Mattress Coupons

Additional Resources

 

Questions & Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

MattressNerd Says

August 20, 2017 at 7:44 pm

Unfortunately I am not familiar with the Kexby. The model looks to be over 10 years old, and there is nothing on the market that will be the same. You could try one of the online direct-to-consumer models. The Saatva (review here: https://www.mattressnerd.com/saatva-review/) reminds me a lot of old Stearns and Foster mattresses, and they have a free return policy, so it might be worth a try, and if you don't like it, return it and try one of the other ones.

Belinda Wade Says

August 19, 2017 at 5:14 pm

Help! My husband and I moved into a new home with a bedroom big enough for a king size bed. We have bought the frame and just now need a king mattress and box springs. We have been sleeping on the S&F Kexby which is no longer made. We have looked at the S&F Baywood and The Reserve II at Sprintz Furniture in Franklin, TN. Our salesperson has not been so forthcoming when we ask about comparisons to Kexby. We are senior citizens who are both heavy so need good support but like it to feel soft, but not so soft we can't turn over.. I have been researching and can't compare because of all the different names. I also heard about another brand that is made for heavy people. What do you suggest?

MattressNerd Says

August 9, 2017 at 8:23 pm

That's the same as the Addison Grace Plush Euro Pillowtop and the ones in that row.

Jean Parisi Says

August 9, 2017 at 7:26 am

Stearns and Foster® Ella Grace Luxury Plush EPT - Mattress + Box Spring for $1940.00 with 30% off, is that good, the reviews are great. HELP, want to order today, thanks so much

Eric Says

August 6, 2017 at 8:38 am

Just baught a stearns and foster la fiorentini iv...should I be worried?

Mary Ann Says

August 3, 2017 at 9:38 pm

Price and what kind is it Villa Naples at Boscov's

MattressNerd Says

August 3, 2017 at 9:36 pm

That one is a new model. It came out near the end of 2016.

Susan Nottingham Says

August 3, 2017 at 8:39 pm

Looking at buying S&F Sonya rose. Have ready a lot of bad reviews about beds sagging Do you know if this is a new model or falls under 2014-2016? Love the way it felt in store

Gail Says

August 3, 2017 at 8:59 am

Trying to compare Sterns and Foster mattresses at Raymour and Flanigan and Mattress Firm Mattress Firm model is Candidate 11 Lux Firm and Bridle Plush Raymour and Flanigan is Estate LaFiorenti 11

MattressNerd Says

July 16, 2017 at 11:00 am

Oh, that's an interesting one. Where did you see it? A google search turns up Mattress Discounters, which is now owned by Mattress Firm. But the company that sells Stearns, TempurSealy, had a falling-out with Mattress Firm, and they are now suing one another. So, I was surprised to see Stearns still listed on the Mattress Discounters site. They had an exclusive lineup, so it won't be an exact match, but the closest comparison will be the Kenna Rose and ones in that row on the comparison chart. The Kenna Rose will have 1" less of one type of foam and about 0.5" more of a different type. Other than that, they're the same.

Jilene Says

July 15, 2017 at 10:57 pm

Could you provide a comparison for the Echo Grove by Stearns and foster? Thank you

MattressNerd Says

July 15, 2017 at 10:46 pm

In the article, I mention that this year the designs look stronger than they used to. Read the section under the heading Stearns & Foster Review. The higher-end Sealys will be a similar quality to the lower-end Stearns & Fosters. If you like the S&F the best, that's likely going to be a fine choice for you.

Jonathan Says

July 15, 2017 at 7:45 pm

My wife and I just visited a Sleep Outfitters where we narrowed our options down to a Sealy Performance Response People's Choice Plush Pillowtop for $1399 (king set), a Sealy Premium Response Academy Award Plush Pillowtop for $1899, and then the sales associate showed us a S&F Estate La Emilia V Plush Euro PT marked $2699 but he could bring it down to $1900. We couldn't feel much difference between the two Sealy's, but we liked the S&F. The associate did say that S&F had bad reviews from 2014-2106, but they changed the design for 2017 and it's much better. I'm driving myself crazy trying to look up accurate reviews and research for these three options until I found your website. Any advice & expertise would bring some much needed clarity to this confusing purchasing decision. My questions are mainly 1. How does the quality compare on these three options (or are there other similar models I should be looking at?)?, and 2. Is it true about S&F making quality upgrades in their designs? Thank you in advance!

MattressNerd Says

July 14, 2017 at 6:53 am

The Kirkland Signature collection (Exclusive to Costco) is a slight step below the Estate Collection.

Susan Says

July 13, 2017 at 6:12 pm

Is Costco S&F Hope Bay compariablebto what other name in other store

Bruce McBride Says

July 4, 2017 at 9:19 am

What do you know about the Costco "Hope Bay mattress "?

MattressNerd Says

July 3, 2017 at 12:42 pm

The salesman is lying to you. It's the exact same mattress as the Hutsonville or Garrick.

MattressNerd Says

July 3, 2017 at 12:30 pm

The Beautyrest Black is going to be a little bit of a step up from the Beautyrest Platinum. They use different coils and different foams. The Balerno is an old model S&F. It is not a better quality than the Beautyrest Black line. It's more in line with the Beautyrest Platinum.

Mike Says

July 2, 2017 at 11:49 pm

Hello, I stopped by a furniture store that was selling the Beautyrest Platinum Brittany Luxury extra Firm($1399) and the Black Desiree Luxury Firm ($1999). Do you know the quality and the difference between them? Also, I went to a warehouse where this guy is a wholesaler and he has the Stearns and Foster Signature Balerno Luxury firm Euro Pillowtop (asking for $1025). Does the S&F is a better quality then the Beautyrest Black line and does the S&F model is the current model or older model? Please help provide me your expertise on these mattresses. Thank you

Leo W Says

July 2, 2017 at 3:30 pm

I'm looking at the Oak Terrace II Stearns & Foster estate collection mattress at All American mattress in Md. It's non pillow top, it's priced around the same as the Hutsonville at Sears and the Garrick at Macy's. Would you know if it's comparable to those? The salesman is saying that the Oak Terrace has more coils but really, how does one know for sure? The height is the same and most of the other specifications match up.

MattressNerd Says

June 17, 2017 at 6:01 am

The Kirkland Signature line is a step below anything on the chart. Only Costco sells it, so you can't compare it elsewhere, but it uses different foams in the top layer compared to the Estate collection.

Susanne Says

June 16, 2017 at 5:35 pm

I want to buy another mattress just like my old stearns and foster dovenby double pillow top can you let me know what it's compared to now, thank you

Debra Millman Says

June 16, 2017 at 10:37 am

Thank you for your review. Costco is selling the Kirkland Signature™ by Stearns & Foster® Hope Bay | Pillowtop Cushion Firm. There are no reviews listed on the Costco website. Do you know which mattresses this compares to on your comparison chart. And, do you have any knowledge as to it's quality?

Tracy Says

June 14, 2017 at 5:24 pm

Penshaw s&f vs hope bay -sold at Cisco do you know what the firmness difference is

MattressNerd Says

June 5, 2017 at 6:10 pm

If you just bought it, it hasn't broken in yet. The foams will always be stiffer when you first get it, until the "cells" in the foam break open. Give it a week or two.

Lyn Trollip Says

June 5, 2017 at 11:03 am

I have just bought a Stearns and Foster River Place GS LXP mattress and find it a bit hard. Is this a common complaint. I have it on trial and wonder if I should return it and what should I replace it with that wont sag.

Ken Says

March 20, 2017 at 11:55 am

How is the loom leaf mattress by saatva for side sleepers, I heard good reviews for side sleeping.

Ken Says

March 20, 2017 at 11:53 am

How is it for side sleeping? I heard it has good reviews.

MattressNerd Says

February 26, 2017 at 11:52 pm

Thanks for the comment. I recommend them as an alternative to Tempurpedic on this page: Tempurpedic Alternatives

Robert Says

February 25, 2017 at 4:10 pm

Cancelled my order and my wife and I are now sleeping happily on a loom leaf mattress by saatva. Amazingly similar to the tempur we tried and almost half the cost.

rob Says

February 21, 2017 at 3:19 pm

I just purchased a Sterns & Fosters Lux King 518760K. My wife and I were wowed by the Tempur-pedic, but it was out of my price range. The salesman took me us to see the SF and it was similar enough and 25% less so we decided to go with it. After reading the reviews posted here and on other sites, I will be cancelling my order. As a matter of fact, I'm on hold with the cancellations department right now!!

jim Says

February 21, 2017 at 3:11 pm

We just got the elite cortona highbird for 45 days but was able to exchange it since it was only 45 days it was just 2 hard we got the softer version now it's elite graniao luxury highbird they was selling for 2,500 but I got the 1st one for 1,400 then when I exchange I only had to pay another 125 plus tax so I'm happy if anything atleast I didn't let them jewelry me in paying full or almost full retail cause I keeped going in and letting them know if they would give me a good enough deal I would not only buy 1 and the lifting base but I have cash plus it was at the end of the year and they really needed to make there quota for the year so li,e I said wasn't to happy on the 1st but I believe that was my bad cause I got it to hard so now I got the softer one we will see how it does

Ken Says

February 21, 2017 at 12:16 am

What mattress is close to a felicity c

Kevin Says

February 19, 2017 at 9:26 pm

My experience differs. bought Stearns and Foster Thornham Cal King. 3 years now. Best mattress I have ever owned. no sinking at all.

Robert Says

January 12, 2017 at 3:10 am

Do not buy unless you hate your bed mate. Had 2 matresses sterns and Foster in 2 years. Both stink. One I have now is next to top of the line. It is horrible. Each side develops pits where you sleep. Turning over is hard. King bed develop a hump in the middle that is hard. Had adults jump on middle to break the jump with no luck. I have bad back wife had bad neck. Bed has made our problems worse. Don't buy it garbage

Kitkat Says

January 8, 2017 at 10:41 am

Thanks for sharing your bad experienced on S&F. I was looking to purchase the S&F mattres set for my elderly mother but after reading your review I better stay away from this brand.

Lauretta Baugh Says

January 6, 2017 at 1:32 am

I agree completely. This is the worst mattress that I have ever slept on. I can feel every spring. It is lumpy and inconsistent. I have bruises on my hip from turning over at night. I tried to return it shortly after I purchased it, but the man that came refused to sit or lay on the bed, but only measured it and said it was in perfect shape. It was expensive and I have not finished paying for it. I cannot at this time buy another because I am a senior citizen on a fixed income. The mattress is thick, heavy and difficult to make up. I will get rid of it as soon as I am able.

MattressNerd Says

December 30, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Just letting you know I redacted part of your comment. I can't have people called out by name in my comments section.

William Says

December 30, 2016 at 10:35 am

Purchased a S&F Luxury Estate mattress 4 years ago and it has been the worst mattress I've ever owned. Do not buy this brand. Company says it must have a 1 1/2" dip, but the padding rebounds to 1"; therefore, the manufacturer will no allow for replacement. I regret ever making this purchase. Each night is a horrible sleeping experience. I wake up in a crater daily with back and neck pain. I bought this mattress because it was supposed to be the best, but it has been a very large and expensive disappointment. If you call the manufacturer, you will get absolutely no help, but you will be treated rudely by both the customer service specialist and management [redacted personal information]. Stay away from this mattress, you will almost immediately regret your decision, I know I did. I also noticed that I am not alone in this unfortunate situation, I've recently read review after review of people having the exact same problem as I do. It is quite clear that this was a poor purchase and I recommend that you stay away from any product associated with Stearns and Foster.

Johnny Criswell Says

December 31, 2015 at 2:37 pm

I like a Sealy Culworth firm. What other Sealy is compatible to it.

Sign up for The Mattress Nerd newsletter: