Yogabed review

Direct to consumer mattresses are becoming very popular. More and more people are shunning the confusing, high-pressure traditional mattress sales showroom and opting to buy online instead. When I first started this website, I was very skeptical about buying a mattress online, but with the free return policies offered, there is little risk. Yogabed is one such direct-to-consumer company, and they recently sent me a mattress for review. I will go over the construction of the mattress, how it feels, and the price as well as my general thoughts about this mattress.

Yogabed tag

The Yogabed

Construction

The Yogabed is a 10 inch foam mattress. The bottom 1 inch is a firm support foam, on top of that is 6.5 of a “breathable” support foam, the next 1.75 inches is a gel-infused foam, and the top 0.75 inch layer is what they call “yoga instant response foam.” So, 2.5 inches of pressure-relieving foam and 7.5 inches of support foam overall.

One distinguishing feature of Yogabed is the cover. It has a removal cover that can be zipped off and thrown in the wash. This is a nice feature for some, especially if you don’t have a mattress protector (though, I still maintain you should get a mattress protector for several reasons). I am such a big believer in mattress protectors that I don’t think I would ever bother to unzip the cover. It’s so much easier to throw a protector in the wash. They even sell mattress protectors on the Yogabed website.

Yogabed is delivered compressed in a box, and it expands to normal height within a few hours. I recommend opening the Yogabed (or any other “mattress in a box”) in the morning, for two reasons. First, to give it plenty of time to “inflate” before sleeping on it. Second, to let the mattress “air out.” Like most foam mattresses, it smells strongly of foam (similar to a new car smell, but stronger) when you first open it. Open it in the morning, open a window, and let it air out a little, and it should be completely gone by bedtime.

Yogabed is made in the USA and the foams seem to be pretty decent quality. It has a 10 year warranty, which protects against physical defects (like sagging greater than 1 inch), but that doesn’t mean it’s going to be comfortable all 10 years. I’d expect it to be comfortable for about 7 years based on my experience with similar mattresses.

The Yogabed is just a mattress, so you’ll need either a platform bed, boxspring, or adjustable base to put the mattress on.

 

Yogabed's box

Yogabed is delivered in a box. It fully expands to normal size within a couple hours, but it inflates to close to normal size instantly

How it feels

The Yogabed is one of the softer direct-to-consumer mattresses that I’ve tried. (Don’t let the name Yogabed fool you, it feels nothing like a yoga mat). It’s not extremely soft, but I wouldn’t really call it firm either. On a scale from 1 to 10, where 10 is the firmest, is around a 6. If you like either a really firm mattress or a really soft mattress, the Yogabed isn’t for you. If you like something slightly on the softer side, but still kinda firm, I think the Yogabed would be a decent match.

The Yogabed uses breathable layers of foam, so it shouldn’t get hot. I spent a few hours on the mattress and I did not notice it getting any warmer than any other mattress. For some people, this is an issue with memory foam mattresses, but I don’t think you should get that problem with Yogabed. Of course, I’ve said that about other mattresses too, and there is always a few people for which it’s an issue. But for most of you, it shouldn’t sleep hot.

Compared to mattresses with latex in them, the Yogabed responds a little more slowly to your body’s movements. This is good for motion separation, but you might have to put some effort into changing positions at night, especially if you’re heavier than average. If you like how normal memory foam mattresses feel, you’ll probably like the Yogabed. If you prefer something springier on top, like a more tranditional innerspring mattress or a latex mattress, you might not like the slower response time of Yogabed.

 

yogabed

This was taken about a minute after opening. It will continue to “inflate” to normal size to smooth out any uneven spots.

Price

The Yogabed is fairly inexpensive compared to their competition. If you’re comparing it to big name brand memory foam like Tempurpedic, Comforpedic, or iComfort, the Yogabed is a lot less money. The Yogabed ranges from $599 in a twin to $949 in a king. This is roughly the same price as other direct-to-consumer mattresses, give or take a few dollars depending on size.

For that, you not only get the mattress, but also two memory foam pillows (twin size only gets one). These pillows are fairly thin, better for stomach or back sleepers, but other than that, they’re decent quality. Overall, the Yogabed is an okay value for your money and a good alternative to haggling over price in a store.

Return policy

The Yogabed comes with a 101 night return policy (it’s 101 because several competitors offer 100 nights, so Yogabed obviously wanted to “one up” them). What this means is if you don’t like how it feels in the first 101 days, just contact Yogabed and they will refund your money. This is generally done by donating the mattress to charity, and many of them offer a free pickup. This makes Yogabed a low-risk investment, and it’s the only reason I can recommend buying a mattress you haven’t tried first.

Conclusion

Overall, the Yogabed is a pretty good mattress at a reasonable price, especially if you prefer something a little bit on the softer side (without going too squishy). This is best for side sleepers, and also good for back sleepers that aren’t too overweight. If you’re a heavier stomach sleeper, this might be too soft.

Everyone’s body is different, and there is no one mattress for everyone. For me, the Yogabed isn’t my favorite direct-to-consumer mattress for my personal use, but that’s because I prefer something on the firmer side. It’s an okay mattress, and if you like the feel of memory foam mattresses but don’t want to pay a ton of money, it’s a relatively inexpensive option.

Related Articles

Leesa Review

Tuft and Needle Review

Alexander bed review

Keetsa Review

Should you buy a mattress online or in store?

Mattress Buying Guide

Resources

Questions & Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

MattressNerd Says

March 13, 2017 at 4:30 am

You're not expected to put it back in the box. Most companies pick it up or direct you to a charity to donate it to, and I believe Yogabed is the same.

chuck Says

March 2, 2017 at 4:17 pm

how do I return a mattress after the trial? I don't think it will go back in the box very well, do you?

Robb Says

July 22, 2016 at 7:28 pm

I just got my bed today and I'm hoping it gets more firm because even after an hour or two, when I sit near the edge I go all the way down to the foundation. I'm a little heavier but not that heavy! I just returned a leesa because it was too soft, and unfortunately it sounds like this may be going back ina month. :( I guess the love bed firm will be my next try. Having a bad back sucks! What kind of issues are you having with them? I won't hesitate to get my credit card company involved if I have to, and since it's Amex, I have nothing to worry about.

Ian Says

July 5, 2016 at 6:06 pm

We ordered a bed through this company and just want to leave a warning. Absolute nightmare of a company to work with, the customer service and the company itself will do their absolute best to screw you over as much as possible. They do not care about their customers at all. Absolute nightmare to work with, would not even recommend to my most hated enemies

MattressNerd Says

April 30, 2016 at 9:09 pm

They do not make you put it back in the box. They send somebody to pick it up for recycling or donation.

Cathi Says

April 30, 2016 at 12:02 pm

How easy is it to ship it back? Can they pick it up? It seems like it would be a challenge to try to get it back in the box if you decided to return it.

MattressNerd Says

March 10, 2016 at 12:04 pm

If you're not getting good sleep because it's causing too much pressure, you should return it. At the time I wrote this, it was a little softer than the other big ones out there, but since then, a lot more have come out. For example, Nest Bedding sells a few plush models which will cause less pressure.

Shaun Says

March 10, 2016 at 12:01 am

You mention the yoga bed is one of the softer box matresses. I am on day 90ish sleeping on one. I have to roll over every hour because the shoulder I've been sleeping on falls asleep. I've never had a tough time sleeping at all. We bought this mattress hoping it would make my back feel better, and while it may have done that I'm feeling like I'm not getting good sleep anymore because of the constant rolling over. Have you heard this complaint before and do you have any advice. I really don't want to return it because I feel like Yoga Bed is the most honest, quality, USA mattress available.

e Says

December 30, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Hi there, You mentioned, "For me, the Yogabed isn’t my favorite direct-to-consumer mattress for my personal use, but that’s because I prefer something on the firmer side." I also prefer something on the firmer side. Can you tell me any other mattresses similar to this that you prefer that are firmer? Thank you!

MattressNerd Says

September 13, 2015 at 9:58 pm

I don't know exactly, but it isn't so heavy as to be immovable. It should weigh just a bit more than half of the weight of the queen. But, that's something their customer service line should be able to help you with.

S. A. Says

September 13, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Do you happen to know how much the twin size weighs? The website isn't much help other than to give the weight of the queen size but I need to know since I will have to carry it up 2 flights of stairs. Thanks in advance.

MattressNerd Says

July 14, 2015 at 7:52 am

I have no idea why somebody would say that the Yogabed is bouncier than the Leesa. The Yogabed feels a little more like a traditional memory foam mattress (but not as slow as, say, a Tempurpedic. The Yogabed feels somewhat similar to a Serta iComfort). The Leesa feels more like a latex mattress. As far as sleeping cooler, I never had an issue with either mattress. I just didn't notice the difference at all. The Posturepedic cobalt hybrid is a fine mattress too. The main difference is you can't easily return it for a refund. It might make sense to get one of these online mattresses first (especially because they're a little less money), and if it doesn't work out, go buy the Cobalt and have either Yogabed or Leesa pick up the mattress.

Bryan Says

July 14, 2015 at 12:20 am

Have been looking into a new mattress for quite a while now. We currently are on an 8yr old very soft plush pillow top spring mattress. It sags in the middle and my wife and I have begun experiencing back pains for about a year (we are 32&30 yrs old). I am 5"9 210lbs but weight dispersed, no belly in the way. My wife is 5'8 about 150lbs., the same, dispersed. I sleep hot, my wife does not. I'm a side and stomach sleeper 50/50 and she is a side sleeper and a little stomach sleep 80/20. We cannot agree on a mattress because laying on them for a few minutes in the store is hard to justify $1000s. I want to try a memory foam mattress for my recent back pain, however I sleep hot. My wife doesn't want that "sucked in" and "stuck" feeling, but also willing to try memory foam for better back support as she is also having low back pain. We have begun our online researching and have narrowed the search towards the Leesa and Yogabed. Seems easy enough to return both of them if not satisfied, however, with 2 small kids and crazy schedules, returning items isnt super practical. Trying to try out beds in stores with 2 kids isn't either. I like that people say both Leesa and Yogabeds aren't hot and are both about the sme firmness. (We also layed on a bed that was able to tell us what type of mattress based on our body distributions - both of us medium to medium/firm.) Will the Leesa or Yogabed be good for us as side sleepers and not give us that "sucked in" feeling of memory foam? I enjoy the cushion but obviously need the support for my back. I read on another review that the Yogabed was more "bouncy" than the Leesa and made moving and turning in the bed easier. You mentioned the Yogabed less bouncy. I curious as to why there would be such discrepancy. I think we were just about ready to pull the trigger on the Yogabed until reading your review, which I like and appreciate. Now leaning more toward the Leesa. These are my biggest concerns. Which one would you recommend we try first with the above info? Which one sleeps cooler? Seems like it would be more durable, less likely to sag or get depressions over time? More cushy, but supportive, without feeling sunken in? I know I wrote a lot, but finding a good mattress is difficult. I would spend much more than the asking price of these 2 mattresses if I knew we would both love it. To make it more difficult, we just layed on a sealy posturpedic cobalt hybrid and we both thought it was fantastic. However, it was only for a few minutes, and I'm skeptical about the sagging from the coils, though they are independent. The coils on our current bed started sagging after about a year, and it is definitely a higher end spring mattress. Please help us decide.

Rita Persons Says

July 10, 2015 at 1:21 pm

So, we live in the south and are having a hard tim finding a platform bed to support the mattress. Any suggestions where we might find something of good quality

MattressNerd Says

May 31, 2015 at 1:24 pm

I know it's in the USA, but I don't know specifically what factory it's in.

David Says

May 31, 2015 at 5:49 am

Hi there, I'm just wondering whether you can tell me where the Yogabed mattress is made? The factory's details should be on the tag, but I can't find this information anywhere! Thanks for your help! David

Sign up for The Mattress Nerd newsletter: