Leesa® review

Disclosure: This site receives a payment from Amazon, Leesa, US Mattress, Wayfair, or Nest Bedding, when you purchase a product using any links to that company in this review (or use my coupon code)

Of all the direct-to-consumer mattresses that have come out (and who have offered to send me mattresses for review), Leesa® is the one I chose to make my primary mattress. This is a great alternative to shopping around in mattress stores, haggling with salesmen for prices and so on. You just order the mattress, try it out, if you like it, you’re done. If you don’t like it, you get a full refund.

In this article, I will go into what the mattress is made of, how it feels, the pricing, and other things to keep in mind with the mattress.

Leesa mattress

The Leesa is delivered in a box

Overview of the mattress

The Leesa is a 10 inch foam mattress with 4 inches of specialty foam up top and 6 inches of a dense support foam as the base. The top two inches are a new type of foam called Avena (more on that later), which is a breathable, resilient, yet soft layer. The Avena layer is “convoluted” (meaning egg-crate shaped) for additional breatheability. Underneath is a medium-density memory foam layer, also 2 inches thick. This provides good pressure relief and transitions a bit into the support layer (it feels more “viscous” than the top layer, which makes sense since it’s viscoelastic memory foam).

Compressed Leesa

The Leesa starts off compressed. (Apologies for the poor lighting. I live in an apartment, not a photo booth.)

The Leesa comes rolled up in a box. It really is quite impressive how it starts off compressed and then pops open when the plastic comes off. The card that came with the mattress says to wait an hour for it to “inflate” before sleeping on it, which I did, but it puffed up to regular size seemingly immediately.

The Leesa comes with a 100 night return policy. That means if you don’t like the mattress, you can return it for a full refund within 100 days. It also has a 10 year full replacement warranty, which means you’ll get a new mattress for free if it sags more than an inch from the surface within 10 years. It’s moderately-priced at $940 for the queen size mattress ($840 if you use my $100 coupon). This is more expensive than the cheap Chinese-made foams you’ll get from Amazon, but less expensive than the luxury foam mattresses you’ll find in stores. The mattress does not come with a foundation, so you’ll need to find a boxspring and frame, platform bed, or adjustable base to support the mattress. I’d go with the adjustable base if I were you and had the money for it, but any of those solutions will work.

Leesa unrolled

This picture was taken within a minute of getting the plastic off. It’s basically at normal size at this point, but you should still wait an hour before use.

My thoughts about Leesa

On paper, the Leesa looked like an excellent mattress, so I was happy to get a chance to try it for myself to confirm that in real life. I am pleased to report that the Leesa lives up to expectations. That’s why I made it my main mattress. I’ve been sent a lot of mattresses to review, and this is the one I chose to sleep on every night. In short, of all the direct-to-consumer mattresses out there, Leesa is my favorite.

It is a medium firm mattress (on a scale from 1 to 10, where 1 feels like concrete and 10 feels like a marshmallow, the Leesa clocks in around a 3.5) that doesn’t have that “quicksand” feel that some other memory foam mattresses have. It feels pretty firm on the surface, but it has good “contourability,” meaning it is good at taking the shape of my body to keep me aligned.

My favorite part about the Leesa is the top layer. Let me explore that a bit more.

Avena foam

As mentioned before, the top layer of the Leesa is a foam called Avena. It is a new type of foam that feels a lot like latex foam. In fact, if you had told me that the Leesa uses latex, I would’ve believed you (and I love latex bedding. I have four latex pillows and a latex mattress in my house.) It feels maybe slightly softer to the touch than latex, but it feels just as resilient and bouncy. However, as a foam mattress, it is still great at separating motion. The “bounce” doesn’t really transfer horizontally across the mattress. Additionally, Avena foam is breathable and doesn’t get hot easily. Like I said, I sleep on it every night, and neither me nor my wife have any heat issues with it.

This means the Leesa gets rid of the two biggest complaints about memory foam mattress:

  1. Memory foam mattresses can feel like “quicksand”
  2. Memory foam mattresses can sleep hot

Despite the fact that Leesa uses 2 inches of memory foam, since it is deeper down in the mattress, you don’t really get these downsides.

I made a short video to demonstrate the difference between my Leesa mattress and a memory foam pillow that I have. The memory foam is a bit more “dead,” while the Leesa bounces back a little more like what you might be used to.

 

 

Leesa vs more expensive foam mattresses

The Leesa compares favorably to mattress 2-3 times the price that you might find in the store. The Leesa retails for $940 for a queen mattress ($840 if you use my $100 coupon), and it feels fairly similar to my last mattress which retailed for over $2000 in a queen. (In fact, the Leesa felt a little better, which is why I switched.)

Leesa vs Tempurpedic

If you’ve ever tried a Tempurpedic mattress, you’ll know it has a very specific feel. It has a VERY slow response, meaning if you try to change position, you have to fight the mattress. Some people don’t mind that, and others hated it. Tempurpedic tries to mitigate this with a line of “hybrid” mattresses, which use an innerspring unit instead of a foam base layer. This is to give it more “bounce.” Leesa achieves this by using the Avena foam layer on top instead.

These Tempurpedic Hybrids will start off at $2000 in a queen and only go up from there, which is over double the price of the Leesa.

Leesa vs Comforpedic, iComfort, and Optimum

When people complained about Tempurpedic’s slow response (and heat issues in the older models), Simmons, Serta, and Sealy seized the opportunity to make a foam mattress with a little more “bounce” to it that wouldn’t retain heat (sound familiar? That’s what Leesa does as well.) So, Simmons came out with Comforpedic, Serta came out with iComfort, and Sealy came out with Optimum.

I’ve tried those three brands, and in each case, the Leesa compares favorably to the mid-range models of these brands at anywhere from half to a third of the price.

King Leesa

This is my king sized Leesa. I’m very happy with it. I kept the twin size I got at first for a daybed in the living room.

Pricing

As mentioned above, the Leesa is priced fairly low in comparison to the more expensive foam mattresses of a similar quality. Because of this, they don’t have any big 50% off sales or anything crazy like that; it’s fairly priced from the start (again, $940 in a queen). However, they have given me a $100 off coupon code for my readers which you can get by clicking here.

Return policy

Leesa has a free return policy, which mitigates the main downside to buying a mattress online (i.e. you can’t try it first). You get to try out the mattress for 100 days in your home (instead of 100 seconds in a store), and if you don’t like it, it’s easy to return. You do not have to send the mattress back yourself. Leesa aims to donate mattresses to local charities, and if they can’t find a local charity willing to take your mattress, they will arrange a pickup with their recycling partner.

The Leesa customer service department is very good from what I’ve seen, and their reviews reflect that. I’ve even seen reviews on their website in which people who ended up returning the mattress gave it a 5 star rating.

Because of this, getting a Leesa is a low-risk purchase. Even lower risk than buying one you’ve tried in a showroom.

Social impact

Leesa has a very big focus on the social impact of their company. They donate 1 mattress to homeless shelters for every 10 they sell. They have donated to the Make-A-Wish Foundation. And as mentioned before always seek to place returned mattresses with charities before disposing of them. They really do believe that everybody should sleep well, and that’s refreshing to see in a company.

Possible reasons to not buy the Leesa

Despite the fact that I think the Leesa is a great mattress, and good for most people, it is not for absolutely everybody. Everyone’s body is different, and there is no such thing as a “one size fits all” mattress. Here are a few reasons a Leesa might not be right for you:

  • You like an ultra-firm, Japanese-style mattress. I would probably argue with you that you don’t need a super-hard mattress and that such mattresses cause pressure to your body and interrupt your sleep. But, if I can’t talk you out of it, then you probably won’t like this mattress.
  • You need an ultra-soft, pillow-y mattress. If you like your mattress to be very soft (this is typical of very light, bony side sleepers), this mattress might not work for you. It’s a bit on the firm side of medium, which is what most people like and need anyway. Judging by the reviews, more people have returned this mattress for being too firm than too soft. (If you want something extremely squishy, the Soft version of Alexander bed by Nest might be good)
  • You’re a 300+ pound stomach sleeperI weigh in at 240, and I feel properly supported in this mattress in all positions. But at one point I was nearly 300 pounds and I tried mattresses similar to this that didn’t quite hold me when I was on my stomach. So I might be leery of getting this mattress if you’re very heavy and sleep on your stomach. (Side sleepers should be okay, since the extra pressure relief is good for your shoulders. Back sleepers are fine too, since it’s not that harmful to be arched forward very slightly. Stomach sleepers tend to need firmer mattresses, though, because our bodies aren’t designed to be bent backwards, and if you carry a lot of weight in your midsection, it might be too much.)
  • You’re completely broke. This is NOT a cheap, low quality mattress. Leesa compares favorably to luxury mattresses and is an excellent value at $940 in a queen (and an even better value at $840 after applying my $100 off coupon). However, if you simply don’t have the money, well… you don’t have the money. In that case, consider getting a Love & Sleep as a lower-cost alternative with a similar story.

Boxspring recommendation

A lot of people are asking me about a boxspring recommendation, so I have a few for you.

The cheap option: If you want to get away with spending as little money as possible, this foundation on Amazon is an inexpensive option. I haven’t used this product personally, so I can’t vouch for how good it is, but it should work and it gets good reviews.

Adjustable foundation: I don’t have one particular recommendation for this, because there’s a huge variety of adjustable foundations at different quality levels, but you can see an overview of adjustable bases here. This is the most expensive option, but it is also the coolest.

Platform bed: Instead of a boxspring, you can buy a platform bed. Here’s a selection on Wayfair.

Conclusion

To summarize, I believe that the Leesa mattress is an excellent value for your money, and will be a good mattress for a large portion of people reading this. For those it doesn’t work for, they have a no-hassle free return policy in the first 100 nights, so it’s a low-risk purchase. This is a way to short-circuit the mattress buying process which can be time-consuming and frustrating. So, if you have unlimited free time to shop around from store to store to find the right mattress, and then make retailers compete for your business both in store and online, I think you’ll find the perfect mattress at a great price. And much of my site is centered around on helping you through that process.

However, if you lack the time or patience to do all of that (and most people don’t have that kind of time), order a Leesa and give that a try first. If you sleep well on it, great. If you don’t, return it and get all your money back and THEN go the other route. You really have nothing to lose.

To buy a Leesa and get $100 off, click here and enter coupon code MATTRESSNERD at checkout.  

If you have any other questions about my experience with Leesa, let me know in the comments section and I’ll do my best to answer.

Thanks for reading!

Disclosure: This site receives a payment from Amazon, Leesa, US Mattress, Wayfair, or Nest Bedding, when you purchase a product using any links to that company in this review (or use my coupon code)

Related Articles

Sapira Review

Should you buy a mattress in store or online?

Adjustable Bases

Do you need a boxspring?

Love & Sleep Review

Tuft and Needle Review

Resources

Coupons

Questions & Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

MattressNerd Says

July 12, 2017 at 7:05 am

No, it's delivered by FedEx or a similar company (I can't remember who delivered mine).

Theresa Sorensen Says

July 11, 2017 at 2:58 pm

Will they take my old mattress away?

MattressNerd Says

June 23, 2017 at 4:08 pm

1) The Leesa can be used on the Tempurpedic foundation 2) I feel Sleep Number is very expensive for an air mattress. The whole draw is that you can change the firmness of the mattress, but once you've found the correct firmness, you won't use that feature. Instead, you just have a lot of extra moving parts to worry about.

Lynn Schubert Says

June 23, 2017 at 12:49 pm

Thank you for your review of the Leesa mattress. I have been sleeping on Tempurpedic mattresses for about 6 years; I absolutely loved it at the beginning, but have progressively become more and more uncomfortable in my sleep on this mattress. How can that happen? My complaints are largely the two that you outlined above; the quicksand feel and sleeping hot, but also have added shoulder pain (as I am a side sleeper) to the list as of late. These complaints have progressed to a point that I am almost desperate to purchase a new mattress. I am thinking about trying the Leesa and have a couple of questions for you. #1) Can I put the Leesa mattress on top of the current boxsprings that I am using for my Tempurpedic? and #2) Do you recommend or have any information on the sleep number bed? (I slept once on an air mattress as an overnight guest and I slept like a baby!?) Please give your reasons why and why not, Thank you!

MattressNerd Says

June 23, 2017 at 7:31 am

If the slats are close together, it will work. I don't know what your bed frame looks like, so I can't tell you for sure, but the slats need to be 3 inches apart at the most (and closer is better). Otherwise, you'll need to get a boxspring.

Joan Says

June 22, 2017 at 5:10 pm

Great article. I just bought 2mattresses. One from Costco with a frame. Gel foam. Queen size It was great from the start. Then went to Darvin and bought a king bed with a bix spring and mattress. Did not read the fine print. First night sleep. Awful. Bad Bev and head pain. Very stiff. Called right away. Was told have rocdleep on it 30 to 60 days! Told them that could not happen. They will exchange with a restock 20% fee. Not happy. So have a bed frame. I think it has slats. Can I put a leesa on that.

MattressNerd Says

June 17, 2017 at 4:16 pm

Yes. Virtually all mattresses these days are one-sided. They're built with a definite bottom layer for support, and softer layers on top for comfort.

michael Says

June 17, 2017 at 12:39 pm

Hi, is the Leesa mattress one-sided? Meaning, can you flip it over or only turn it 360? From the architecture diagrams that I've seen, seems that the top has to remain the top

MattressNerd Says

June 3, 2017 at 8:15 pm

Just decoration. They go at the "bottom," but since you're supposed to rotate your mattress every once in a while, they'll sometimes be at the top. They're opposite the law tag, and the law tag is generally considered the "top" of the mattress (or at least that's how it is in retail showrooms, for aesthetic purposes).

Jim Says

June 2, 2017 at 6:40 pm

the white decorative lines on the mattress have meaning or just decoration? do they go to the top of the mattress or the bottom?

MattressNerd Says

April 15, 2017 at 4:49 pm

I haven't tried it and my initial impression is that the Purple is kind of gimmicky. The comfort layer is fairly thin. That said, it seems to get good reviews, so it's probably fine, just not for me.

Tammy Bishopp Says

April 12, 2017 at 1:15 pm

Thank you for doing all of the research. I have been reading from many sites and you seem to have the best info for back problems. I am 5'4" 125lbs and have issues with lower back pain, and neck pain. I suspect much of this is coming from sleeping on an old mattress (too embarrassed to reveal how old). I am curious if you have done any research on the Purple mattress and how you think it would compare to the Lessa. I like to fall asleep on my back but often find myself on my stomach (currently with a lot of pain). So I suspect that I prefer my stomach/side. Thank you for your opinion!

MattressNerd Says

March 28, 2017 at 11:54 am

That should work fine, as far as I can tell.

Judah Adashi Says

March 27, 2017 at 1:25 am

Hello! I found your blog very helpful. I just ordered a Leesa as a birthday present for my wife. (She asked for it as a gift, but will still be excited/surprised!) We have an older Queen bed frame, with a split queen box spring. Based on all that I've read, in your blog and otherwise, we'll need an alternative box spring solution. Based on reviews, it's difficult to find bunkie boards or mattress foundations that truly have slats no more than 3" apart. I'm considering this option as a solution: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00X6HZCJI/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=3MHEO2YHSZ3I9&coliid=I1RQAR5I8HT6BL&psc=1 What do you think? Thank you!

MattressNerd Says

March 13, 2017 at 4:31 am

Thanks for this. Gendered terminology is a hard habit to break.

Diane Says

March 10, 2017 at 7:43 pm

I found this to be a thoughtfully written and helpful review, but please bear in mind (second line) that women also sell mattresses.

Ruby Skipper Says

December 9, 2016 at 5:23 am

After reading your review, i would surely like to try Leesa Mattresses and if it does not suit me then I can return it within 100 days. I think it has a good deal.

MattressNerd Says

November 29, 2016 at 1:00 pm

No, that would be absurd.

alan Says

November 29, 2016 at 10:56 am

Does the mattress have to stay in the plastic bag if being returned? Can it be completely opened, removed from its packaging, and used like a normal mattress before returning? I feel there's a "catch" in there somewhere and it concerns me. I don't plan on returning it, but since the 'return policy' is such a big deal/bonus, I want to make absolutely sure. I've texted Leesa on Facebook to see...

MattressNerd Says

November 20, 2016 at 7:26 am

This is a question I haven't had before. One problem is that the foam will be exposed to moisture, which can cause them to break down more easily. At the very least I'd recommend using a mattress protector between the mattress and sheets. You may want to contact Leesa to see what they have to say about it, though, since that's a very interesting question.

Joey Says

November 18, 2016 at 4:32 am

Ok first off, great article and responses time to people's questions. I had a question regarding the Leesa mattress cover. We took it off and washed it. It didn't even dawn on us that we weren't suppose to do that, the zipper goes all around the entire mattress and makes it super easy to remove. Now, we were smart enough to wash the cover in cold water and air dry. Putting the cover back on was far more Of a challenge. I feel like it's not on quite right or it possibly shrank a little despite my cold water and air dry with zero heat. The cover definitely feels tighter along the edges I think. Also while the cover was off, I laid on the bed (aka just foam layers and fire retardant mesh cover). Wow the mattress responds better without the cover on and feels much much cooler. Lying on my back with the cover on, my feet don't really sink or contour at all. With the cover off, my heels sink in slightly. It just counters your body immediately without the cover. With the cover I can't decide if it's doing it at all (and I weigh 185). Also, The Leesa mattress cover I always felt was too thick to make those fancy air channels in the aveno foam matter at all. With the cover off, you can feel air flowing out when you change positions. With this said, can I just leave the cover off? So the fitted sheet would be over the mattress fire retardant layer. Thoughts? Does the Leesa cover keep the foam layers from expanding further and becoming misshapen? Right now I can feel all movement bc it puts sheering force on the Leesa cover and moves my body

BL Says

November 17, 2016 at 7:13 pm

I wonder if they switched sources on the components or manufacturing. We got ours, set it up and we could smell it downstairs for a few hours. We had to sleep on the couch downstairs because it never got much better. With the windows in the bedroom left wide open, 24 hours later the room is a little better but the mattress still smells bad. On the bright side, the couch doesn't seem to hurt my back as much as my old mattress....

MattressNerd Says

November 11, 2016 at 1:17 pm

That depends on whether the hospital bed is a standard size. I don't have the answer to that.

Gunter Carroll Says

November 8, 2016 at 10:06 pm

Will the Leesa fit an adjustable hospital bed?

Emma Says

November 1, 2016 at 8:49 am

Aliza, What were your thoughts after some time on the Leesa? Did you end up keeping it? Did you find you adjusted after time, or was it still too firm? Thanks!

natalee Says

October 31, 2016 at 11:34 am

Our stinks too. We've had it for only a few days, but the smell is strong and doesn't show any signs of lessening. We have it airing on with no sheets/ blankets, in a room with all windows open 24/7. It seems comfy, but I wouldn't know because I've been sleeping downstairs on the couch. THAT is how strong the smell is.

weepie.winnie Says

October 31, 2016 at 11:01 am

What are your recommendations to the Lessa sleeping hot? Plus it has been a week and the mattress is not a full 10 inches. Wondering if that may make it sleep hot?

MattressNerd Says

October 30, 2016 at 9:01 am

I haven't tried Helix, and they make a bunch of different mattresses, so it's a little harder to compare for me.

Leslie Says

October 25, 2016 at 9:53 pm

Hi, I'm a grad student (aka low on funds), but am tired of cheap ikea mattresses. I'm 5' 1.5'' and about 110 lbs (although I've been even lighter in the past) and a side sleeper with scoliosis and some neck and back pain. A friend of mine loves his Helix. Previously I had a cheap mattress with a $120ish 3'' Costco memory foam topper and this was almost too soft and I got really hot, especially if I used warm blankets. How does Helix compare to Leesa or TN for a petite side sleeper?

nick Says

October 5, 2016 at 9:39 pm

I have had this a month and I can still smell it. Its far less than when I got it but still has me a bit worried. I'm not sure why but I haven't slept that great since I got it. And I don't have a particularly strong sense of smell

MattressNerd Says

September 30, 2016 at 9:35 am

If you prefer kind of a fluffy feel like some pillowtops, I might recommend something like a featherbed or a thick wool topper rather than memory foam. Otherwise, I don't have any specific suggestions for toppers.

Jimmer Says

September 27, 2016 at 2:52 pm

I weigh 150 lbs., and usually prefer a pillowtop feel. If the Leesa is still too firm after 4-6 weeks, are there any memory foam toppers you would recommend? Sometimes I wake up feeling refreshed, sometimes not so much. But its only been a week, so more time is needed I'm sure. Also, will having more sheets and/or covers on the bed reduce the Leesa's ability to conform to the body? Thanks!

MattressNerd Says

August 15, 2016 at 12:01 pm

For the mattress, you have way too many criteria you're looking at for me to help you narrow it down, especially since a lot of them are contradictory. For example, you say you like eco-friendly foams, but then you list half a dozen mattresses you liked that don't use eco friendly foams. You're also looking at a pretty big range of prices. The Leesa may very well be a decent option for you, and it hits about half of the criteria you're looking at, but it's really impossible to say for sure. Luckily, that's where the free trial comes in, so it may be worth a shot, but I suspect no matter what mattress you pick, you'll be able to find something wrong with it, based on the list of things you're looking for. The one thing I can recommend is the foundation, though. With your wife's reflux issues, an adjustable base makes a lot of sense. All of the mattresses you're looking at are designed to work with adjustable bases, and there are a lot of other benefits other than just reflux. If you like to read in bed, for example, you can have your head up and raise the feet a bit. The nicer ones even have massage features.

Joel Says

August 13, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Great site - Reading through these comments has been so helpful in narrowing down our options for buying a new queen memory foam mattress. We started our search in store, but have realized that there are many great alternatives when buying online (the main disadvantage obviously not being able to test things out before purchasing). That being said, we'd love a little advice as to which mattress(es) you might recommend. We're coming from a traditional Sealy innerspring, which is fairly firm. Our tendency is to go more firm (since that's what we've been used to), but have learned that firmer doesn't necessarily mean more support. In store, we tried a Serta Radiance Gold and several Tempupedics, including the Contour Elite (firm) and Flex Supreme Breeze (medium). Since we're new to memory foam and have never slept on it before, it's hard to know what firmness or specific surface might be best. My guess is that something between the Contour Elite and Flex Supreme Breeze might be most preferable in terms of firmness, although we feel we might be able to adapt a bit assuming our comfort is better overall. We're both combo back/side sleepers, 140/170 lbs. My wife has been using a wedge pillow to help with reflux issues. Other considerations are edge support - she's complained about sliding off of a few models we tried in store, so we might prefer something with above average edge support. We've also been impressed by some of the longer warranties being offered, and by some mattresses using more plant-based/Eco-friendly foams. The mattresses I've been considering buying at this point are the Loom and Leaf (relaxed firm?), Amerisleep Revere or Liberty (not sure which firmness), the Novaform Deluxe Comfort or Serafina Pearl Gel (both $650 at Costco, Serafina is top rated by Consumer Reports), or possibly the Leesa which is popular on this site. We're also looking to upgrade our base - right now we're on an old slatted wooden futon frame, which I know isn't ideal for most mattresses. Thanks so much for any advice you may have!

MattressNerd Says

August 3, 2016 at 3:56 pm

That may be pushing the limits of the Leesa, especially over the long run. A strong Latex mattress might hold up better, though they tend to be more expensive. I don't have any particular suggestions for platform beds, unfortunately. The nicer ones should be sturdier, though.

Gwen Says

August 3, 2016 at 2:59 pm

We are in need of a new King bed. We like the idea of the leesa, but is it good for heavy people. Collectively we are close to 550lbs and add a kid or two, weight can get over 600 lbs. Will the Leesa support this? Also in looking at platform beds, most are only rated to 500lbs.. any suggestions? We want to keep the bed at a low profile. Thanks!!

Roger Says

July 19, 2016 at 9:38 am

I'm a 75 year-old, 200 pound male and have some slight joint issues. I've been sleeping on my Queen Leesa for about a month and sleeping like a rock. Also, I did buy the instant foundation from Amazon, put it together in an hour and it's working out great. No pain when I get out of bed in the AM. My curves do sink in a bit, which I like, but there's a definite feeling of support under that. I'm a back and side sleeper. Given their warranty, I see no reason to not give it a try. I'm loving mine. It took me a long time to get up the courage to try it. Now, I'm glad I took the plunge. Good luck and good sleeping, everyone. (My foxhound loves it too, but I wish she'd quit kicking me.)

MattressNerd Says

July 10, 2016 at 1:46 pm

1) You won't be able to roll the mattress back up into a box like it comes in, but you can fold the thing like a taco and it won't hurt it. 2) The Ikea bed is kind of iffy. If you have the slats that arch upwards, those aren't really good for memory foam. If they're the flat ones that are more rigid, that may work as long as the slats are close enough together. You don't want a gap bigger than about 2.5 inches.

Angelo Says

July 10, 2016 at 11:22 am

This is a great article. I am considering this mattress, but I have two big concerns that maybe you can help me with. First of all, we want to buy a king size mattress, but we have an extremely narrow staircase with plenty of sharp turns that make it almost impossible to get anything over a twin size up to our bedroom. It looks like the Leesa would be perfect for that since it comes vacuum packed, but I'm wondering if you know whether it will be easy for us to get it rolled back up again in case we need to get it out of the room someday. Also, we currently have an Ikea bedframe with wooden slats. Would this type of mattress work on wooden slats or would we have to change to something else. If we need to change to something else, do you have any recommendations, keeping in mind how difficult it is to get things up our steps? Any advise would be greatly appreciated! Thanks again for your great review!

MattressNerd Says

July 2, 2016 at 6:39 pm

It's certainly a good place to start, especially if you prefer mattresses a little on the firmer side. It's not rock-hard, but of the people that return it, more people do so because it's too firm than they do too soft. In any case, it's a low-risk purchase because if you don't like it you can return it for a full refund and iterate from there. That said, the vast majority end up keeping it, and you're basically the ideal demographic for a mattress like this. It's a good mid-range mattress for a reasonable price and good customer service policies to back it up, and there's little hassle. The one thing I'd definitely recommend though is a mattress protector. You don't need one of the pets drooling or urinating on the mattress, ruining it.

Francesca Says

July 2, 2016 at 7:40 am

I've finally decided that I'm enough of an adult to have a guest room and my own room, so I figured that my current Queen set would become the guest set and I'd splurge for a King set for my room. Reading through, it sounds like the Leesa might be an excellent option, but I'd love your opinion since a huge factor in the size change is the number of sleepers on my bed each night-- I'm 5'8" and 135lbs My boyfriend is ~5'10" maybe 175lbs By lab is ~60 lbs My puppy is currently 15 lbs but will likely grow to at least 45 His adolescent dog is going to get to 50 (I'm guessing) And then there's a cat.. Obviously it's quite a full spot in the evenings and it seems as though weight might be a factor in choosing the Leesa. I'm planning on building a platform frame for ease of dogs getting on and off and to alleviate the cost of both a frame and boxspring. My boyfriend and I are both fans of firmer mattresses (we both have back issues that spark up from time to time) but I'm also a graduate student so I can't throw a bunch of money into a super high-end mattress. Thoughts?

MattressNerd Says

June 27, 2016 at 6:55 am

Most "box springs" today don't have actual springs in them. Any rigid surface will work. It just can't flex.

Dennis Hill Says

June 25, 2016 at 7:37 pm

Can you use a conventional box spring with the Leesa? Will the box spring have to have a hard board put over the top to make it work? I just bought a new box spring for a mattress that is terrible.. thanks

MattressNerd Says

May 27, 2016 at 6:20 pm

I don't have any specific recommendations for sheets. The few direct-to-consumer ones I've tried have all been way too expensive for what you get and don't feel that nice. I'm extremely happy with the ones I got from Bed Bath and Beyond, but they're not sold there anymore.

Greta Says

May 27, 2016 at 3:59 pm

We just purchased a king-sized Leesa to go on top of an Ikea platform bed. While we're waiting for our mattress to arrive, we'd like to shop for a good quality sheet sheet. (We already took your advice and plan to order the Lucid waterproof mattress protector from Amazon.com.) Do you have any recommendations for sheets? We don't want something crazy expensive but just good quality that will fit correctly on the Leesa mattress.

MattressNerd Says

May 27, 2016 at 7:24 am

Some people have this issue on pretty much any foam mattress. I'd recommend keeping the temperature in your bedroom a little lower. Also, check to make sure your protector is breathable. And if your mattress protector is "leaking," you should get a better protector. I've never had one with that issue. When I had a mattress in my living room, I accidentally spilled an entire 2 liter bottle of soda on the mattress, and the protector kept it clean and dry.

Bryan Says

May 27, 2016 at 7:13 am

We're about half way through our 100 night trial and, while we find the Leesa to be comfortable, we find it to be very hot. As in wake up most mornings feeling super sweaty. This is gross and uncomfortable. This can't be good for sleep and it can't be good for the mattress. We have a protector on the mattress but if you read enough reviews you'll see that most protectors "leak" and companies fight you tooth and nail when you try to make a warranty claim.

MattressNerd Says

May 16, 2016 at 4:18 pm

Mine hasn't started sagging at all, and I still have it. I made it my regular sleeper in March or April of 2015. I turned a twin sized one into a daybed mattress in the living room in December 2014. There is about a month of "break in" time when the mattress is a little firmer when you first get it than it will be. So I noticed it get a little softer after a month and then it's stayed pretty consistent after that. (I think that's also why they say you should keep it for a month before returning it). So perhaps that's what people are referring to. If it actually starts sagging, you get a new one for free.

Richard Chalmers Says

May 16, 2016 at 4:05 pm

I am interested in the Leesa, but have read several reviews about the mattress breaking down and sagging after a few months. What Have you experienced so far? I know you made it your regular sleeper back in December 2014 and stated that you still slept on it in March of 2016. What has your experience been with heat and or sagging? Thanks, Rik

MattressNerd Says

April 11, 2016 at 10:33 am

Based on her body type, I'd recommend something softer with the caveat that in Japan, they tend to sleep on super hard mattresses. When I worked in a store, I had some customers that were just moving to the USA from Japan, and even the firmest mattress we had on display was met with the response "too soft." So, what would probably be the best for her body type and what she's used to might be two completely different things.

Ryan Says

April 11, 2016 at 9:55 am

I'll be purchasing a mattress for my Japanese fiance and myself. She's pretty small, 5'2 and about 90-100 pounds and I'm 5'10/175 pounds. Think I should look at something softer than the Leesa considering her body type?

Ashley Says

April 6, 2016 at 2:14 pm

I just wanted to say thank you for your review of the Leesa mattress! I did a lot of research before committing to one and from your review, along with what I read on sleepopolis and sleeplikethedead, I was sold on the Leesa (worth noting however that my options were limited due to so few companies shipping to Canada). Anyway, I've been sleeping on my Leesa mattress for about 2 weeks now and I am in love!!! Honestly the best purchase I've made. It definitely hits that sweet spot of being soft (but not too soft) with good, firm support (but not at all too firm!). When I first got it I was still waiting on my IKEA bedframe to arrive so I had it directly on the floor and found it much more comfortable once I had it resting on the slatted bed base/bed frame (something to consider for anyone thinking of buying it). Also the protective cover is SO soft I love it. I highly recommend this mattress to anyone considering it!! Also shipping took 3 days.

MattressNerd Says

March 22, 2016 at 4:08 pm

Return policy is almost identical. I don't know as much about their social impact.

MattressNerd Says

March 22, 2016 at 4:08 pm

I haven't found any others in the major brands that are similar enough. The Sealy Hybrids come somewhat close, but they're innerspring mattresses and there are some noticeable differences because of that.

MattressNerd Says

March 22, 2016 at 4:07 pm

It's certainly worth a shot.

Tricia Says

March 22, 2016 at 12:59 pm

Since you stated the Leesa is like the Tempurpedic Weightless Supreme, which is now discontinued, have you found another mattress that is like it (so I can try at a store before purchasing)

Sherrie Murphy Says

March 22, 2016 at 11:16 am

How does the Nest compare to the Leesa regarding social impact and return policy? I like the fact that Leesa donates mattresses and also they pick up if return is necessary.

Tricia Says

March 21, 2016 at 5:17 pm

My husband and I are mattress shopping and coming from a low motion waterbed. Do you believe this transition to this bed will be an easy one? I am having some back issues and he is not able to get comfortable in the bed anymore. We are both around 150 pounds, and don't have a specific sleeping pattern

MattressNerd Says

February 28, 2016 at 10:31 pm

The foundation of the Sleep Number will be fine.

MattressNerd Says

February 28, 2016 at 10:30 pm

The foam is different types of polyurethane foam. Top is Avena, which is a synthetic latex. Second layer is memory foam, third layer is HR foam. It's made in Virginia, so yes, USA.

Linda Degenhardt Says

February 28, 2016 at 4:58 pm

I am in need of a new mattress and have been doing some research and came across this site. It has been quite helpful. I am looking at purchasing the Lessa. I currently have a sleep number. My question is, I have the foundation for the sleep number, which is a hard plastic, would this work for this mattress, or would I need to purchase another foundation?

Timothy Says

February 25, 2016 at 3:02 pm

I have been looking at getting this mattress for me and my wife but wanted to know what type of foam is in this bed and is it made in the USA?

MattressNerd Says

February 10, 2016 at 4:49 pm

I haven't had any problems with my Seahawk foundation, but I understand your concern. I've actually had a lot of issues trying to find a national retailer that can deliver them. People have had issues with Olejo, Amazon just drops it off at your doorstep, and Sleepy's/1800 Mattress have a limited delivery area (Northeast and Mid-Atlantic). Glad the Leesa is working out for you. The vast majority of people who tell me they bought it say they like it.

NancyC Says

February 10, 2016 at 2:32 pm

Thanks for your helpful website, mattressnerd. We bought a king-sized Leesa in December, giving it a shot, and we really love it. After years of waking up because of bursitis or arthritis pain, I'm so happy that this just doesn't happen with our Leesa! We have yet to find a downside to this mattress. I would never have risked it without that 100-day guarantee. We appreciate it every day, and we miss it when we are away from home! We wanted the storage option, but I found scary bad reviews for Seahawk. We ended up getting a terrific platform-style bed with drawers underneath. So Leesa thank you for this incredible mattress, and MattressNerd thank you for the great website that helped me find it.

James Says

February 5, 2016 at 11:21 am

Hi There - Considering this mattress. I tend to get hot and sometimes sweat at night. Given this, do you have any recommendations for a mattress protestor and an example set of sheets to go with the leesa? Thanks!

MattressNerd Says

January 2, 2016 at 5:59 pm

The Loom and Leaf is a bit firmer and feels more like a Tempurpedic memory foam mattress (that is, it has a slow response). The Leesa will feel more like a latex mattress and will contour a little more easily and quickly.

Molly Says

January 2, 2016 at 1:47 pm

I'm thinking about purchasing the Leesa but I've also heard great things about the Loom & Leaf by Saatva. Do you know how they compare?

MattressNerd Says

December 22, 2015 at 8:58 pm

I'd imagine it should be fine, but you can always just buy it and try it out. The main reason I can recommend the Leesa is they have a free return policy if it doesn't work. But like I said, it should work. It will contour around the two of you, but it really shouldn't "suck you in."

Chris Says

December 22, 2015 at 8:26 pm

The one thing I never seem to find mentioned in any mattress reviews is how well suited a mattress may be for a couple that side-sleeps spooned together. We have been testing the Denver Mattress RV Euro-Supreme lately, and after a few weeks it seems to form a crater that my partner and I are sucked into. Our prior mattress-store foam mattress was the same. I weigh 250, she weighs 170. Any mattress recommendations for us? Can the Leesa handle the weight of a couple spooned together in the middle of the bed?

MattressNerd Says

December 7, 2015 at 11:14 pm

I don't know what other information you're looking for. Feel free to email their customer support if you have any technical questions that isn't available on their website.

Josh Says

December 7, 2015 at 8:56 pm

Any other info you can offer or direct me on Leesa's website?

MattressNerd Says

December 6, 2015 at 7:41 pm

Leesa is CertiPUR-US certified. In fact, almost every brand made in the US is. http://certipur.us/for-consumers/find-products/

Josh Says

December 6, 2015 at 9:51 am

I can't find any information on the Leesa as it pertains to the materials used. We are considering the Tuft and Needle, and the Nest - Alexander, and both offer information about their composition (things like Oeko Tex and CertiPUR-US). Can you offer any insight?

MattressNerd Says

December 6, 2015 at 8:02 am

It should work, though it's not really the best option for a foam mattress. The thin rods supporting the mattress on a frame like that will dig into the foam a little bit, which might wear it down quicker in the long run. In the short and medium term, it should be fine though.

Kaleigh Says

December 5, 2015 at 11:04 am

I'm about 95% certain I will be trying out a Leesa. I recently had to get rid of my mattress pad and am wondering if something like this might work with a Leesa: http://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B006MIUM20?colid=2ZVR4T9G1CRBQ&coliid=I2QSC0UZQIXEUT&psc=1&ref_=wl_it_dp_o_pd_nS_ttl Thanks so much, and I appreciate the extremely thorough reviews you give!

MattressNerd Says

December 5, 2015 at 1:09 am

Yes, though you might as well keep it in the box too if you're going to keep it in the plastic anyway. Unless the box just barely doesn't fit.

Joshua Durben Says

December 4, 2015 at 4:15 pm

If I remove the package from the box, but still keep the shrink wrap around it, would I be able to fit it inside my 4 door Hyundai Accent ?

MattressNerd Says

November 27, 2015 at 8:17 pm

I emailed you, but I'll repeat it here. The Novaform 14" is going to be a lot softer than the Leesa. If you like a mattress that you can squish farther down into, then the Novaform will be more to your liking. Most people prefer something on the firmer side, which is where Leesa is.

Jerry Devlin Says

November 27, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Any thoughts on Leesa Cal King v. NovaForm 14" Cal King?

April Says

November 21, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Also, your thoughts on cool gel memory foam pillows?

April Says

November 21, 2015 at 3:55 pm

I am very impressed with your knowledge and expertise on the mattress industry. I have spent weeks looking for a new mattress and ended up buying the icomfort-Savant everplush. I am very disappointed as it sleeps hot and I wake up with intense shoulder pain and back also. I have tried it nearly 4 weeks now. It was very expensive around $2,800. I luckily have a trial period so I can return it. I bought adjustable bases and am very unsatisfied. I was told about the tuft and needle and started searching there which is how I found you. I was ready to return my Savant and go with the Honoree by I-Series. I now am considering trying the Leesa as well. Saving money would be a huge plus! I just want to sleep well and not be so sore. My neck and back are sore as well. I am a side sleeper, yet mostly back now because of shoulder pain and Savant being to firm. Wondering also if Leesa is comparable to Savant, therefore wouldn't be good for my liking. Not impressed with the Savant Memory Foam I have now!! Suggestions between Honoree and Leesa? Thank You Kindly!

MattressNerd Says

November 19, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Leesa doesn't offer anything like that, though if you email them, they might be able to put you in touch with a charity or a recycler near you.

Mimi Says

November 18, 2015 at 8:48 am

Question: if I buy this mattress, how do I dispose of my current mattress? Most websites offer pickup with delivery. Does Leesa? Thanks so much for taking the time to create this website, and providing excellent content!

MattressNerd Says

November 13, 2015 at 9:58 pm

A bad batch of foam, perhaps. It happens, though rarely. Making foam is similar to baking a cake. It's entirely possible to "bake" the foam incorrectly. It doesn't happen often, but it's not completely unheard of either. When you ship thousands of mattresses, some small number will be defective.

Gus08 Says

November 12, 2015 at 11:42 am

I'll do that; thanks. I had the same thought about it being defective, though I'm not sure how exactly an all-foam mattress could be defective. And yet, despite reading literally hundreds of reviews, I don't recall anyone mentioning rolling from the sides of the bed into a 5" crater in the center as an issue, so I can't believe this is normal. My Leesa is also incredibly soft -- and I tend to like soft mattresses, but this is way too much. I wonder if they used the wrong foam or something. I'm almost tempted to try another one, if their customer service offers me that option. We'll see. Thanks for your thoughts!

MattressNerd Says

November 11, 2015 at 10:09 pm

That doesn't sound normal at all. I wonder if you got a defective one. Did you contact Leesa? In my experience, their customer service is top notch. I doubt they'll make you wait the full 30 days. In any case, I'm sure they'll be able to help you.

Gus08 Says

November 10, 2015 at 1:50 pm

After much research I recently ordered a Leesa for my platform bed. I've been sleeping on it two weeks and as much as I expected to love it, it's been a bit of a nightmare. Starting on night two, after lying on it for about five minutes, I sink into a kind of crater. It's difficult to turn over or get out of bed once this happens, and completely uncomfortable. The mattress isn't really conforming to my body when this happens -- there is space between my waist and the mattress, for example, so I don't feel supported.. It sinks more like a coil bed that has developed a sag. The mattress rises back to normal height once I get out of bed, but for a few minutes there's a 3-5 inch dip. It's such an awful feeling that I'm sleeping in the guest room until my 30 days are up and I can return the Leesa. Based on what you've written in earlier reviews, I'm about the same height and weight as you, and I tend to be a side sleeper. Do you have any thoughts? Heard of this happening to anyone else? (The sagging is REALLY extreme, more than other purely memory foam beds I've slept on in the past.) I'm just at a loss as to what to try next, since Leesa seems to be the most universally-loved choice of the online mattress vendors. After this experience, I'm scared to buy another mattress that doesn't offer a no-risk return policy.

Heather Says

November 10, 2015 at 1:44 am

I am very impressed with your thoroughness. And with the comprehensive and kind responses you give to somewhat repetitive questions. Good job with this site. -- Heather

MattressNerd Says

November 9, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Gel does not "cool" a mattress. That's marketing hype. At best it just takes slightly longer to warm up. The Avena layer in Leesa is convoluted (egg-crate shaped) to promote air flow, and it is like a synthetic latex that doesn't warm up much. I haven't tired the Serafina, but it looks like it should be a lot softer.

Craig Says

November 9, 2015 at 9:04 pm

My wife and I are looking to replace our 15 yr old king Simmons Beautyrest with a foam mattress. My only experience with memory foam is a topper we put on our mattress and it always seemed to make me hot and I sunk in and felt like I could not move. How does the Leesa compare to the newer foams using gel to cool and how does it compare to the Nova form Serafina Pearl Gel sold by Costco which Consumer Reports rated a best buy? Thank you for your time and information.

MattressNerd Says

November 3, 2015 at 12:03 pm

If the Leesa is too firm, you can of course add a topper to it. Quite a few people do. It's easier to make a mattress that's too firm a little softer than it is to go the other direction. I'd expect Leesa to be comfortable for around 7-8 years or so, but it's tough to say for sure. Your mileage may vary.

Lalu Says

November 2, 2015 at 9:59 pm

to continue lol.... I'm thinking if we order the tuft and needle mattress we can use our latex 3" layer as a topper so that it's a little softer?? Also, how many years does the Tuft and Needle and Leesa last? Thanks again for your help! Lael

Lalu Says

November 2, 2015 at 9:57 pm

Hello, We currently have a latex mattress which we loved at first but now it has started to sag and it is too soft. It is an 11" mattress with three different layers so we are considering replacing the base layer with a firmer ILD. To replace all the layers will be very expensive. Unfortunately the company that we purchased the mattress from (with a 25 year warrantly) closed last year. Today a Tuft & Needle ad caught my eye and then I read your review which led me to this review as well. Long story even longer.... I'm concerned that both of these mattresses might feel too firm for us after sleeping on latex for the past five years. Does anyone ever add a topper to either the Tuft & Needle or the Leesa? Thanks for your help!

MattressNerd Says

October 31, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Yes, it's a normal king size.

cindy Says

October 31, 2015 at 11:19 am

If I am just replacing my mattress, is the leesa the same size as a conventional king so I can just use the box springs i have?

MattressNerd Says

October 10, 2015 at 6:55 pm

The Leesa isn't all that heavy. Rotating it might be a little tough, but lifting the corners isn't difficult at all.

MattressNerd Says

October 10, 2015 at 6:52 pm

That's a good question. You can put in two separate orders and apply the code to each one, I think. If that doesn't work, email Leesa support. They're pretty good at working with people.

Pat Kerrigan Says

October 10, 2015 at 10:53 am

I appreciate the information presented here. I am 71 and have a laytex mattress that needs to be replaced. A huge problem for me is lifting the corners to change linens because the mattress is so heavy. Also, I can't rotate it by myself. Is there a good Leesa mattress that does not weigh a ton so that an elderly person can easily manage sheet changes. Thanks for the help.

Cheryl Marsh Says

October 9, 2015 at 8:01 pm

Is there any way to get a better price if I'm buying two twin XLs? If not, can I use two of your coupons, one for each?

Laurie Says

September 21, 2015 at 7:52 pm

We bought a sleep number spent $3,300. I don't need to tell you it was the worst mistake of my life. With all my health issues I have not slept 1 night on it. I got out everytime I tried hurting more then I did when I laid down. So I sleep in the recliner and have for the past couple years. Not very good on a marriage. When I want to be in my husbands arms.

Jennifer Says

August 31, 2015 at 12:28 pm

Any recommendations for twin mattresses for our now guest rooms where our older daughters sleep when they come home for visits? Both rooms have 25 year old iron day beds where the mattresses sit directly on metal wires. The day beds also have pop-up trundles underneath. Thanks!

MattressNerd Says

August 31, 2015 at 8:56 am

The Leesa is on the firm side of the spectrum, so it might not be right for you. The Love Bed Soft might work for you, though it is very soft. You can see my review of Love Bed here.

Princess and the Pea Says

August 30, 2015 at 7:43 pm

My partner and I are mattress-shopping now as the sales are on and I'm tired of how our old spring mattress startles me awake if he moves during the wrong parts (i.e. most) of my sleep cycle. I rotate through sleep positions and body temps all night because I have the wrong body entirely for sleeping: Firstly, I'm hypersensitive and tactile, so I often need the pressure of a body pillow or heavy comforter to quiet the nerves; I really crave the feeling of sinking my bones into a soft surface. Secondly, I'm too bony for comfort from the top of my hips upward, but most of my 160-170 lbs is concentrated in my booty, so my lower back and legs have to fight against the sloped edges of the gravity well in the middle of my half of the bed. At each furniture store, I gravitate to the softest memory foam option in each brand and they did seem to even out the weight distribution. Might be too luxurious to leave in the morning. The firm options are suitable but still give that pulling feeling in my lower back. Any springs are no-go because I can sense every vibrating coil. I really just want to curl up in a giant bean bag but that's probably unhealthy. I liked the Classic Brands Stanhope from TheRoomPlace but not the price. The cheaper American Signature Invigorate at Value City seemed fine, but I worry whether it's durable. Plus, a squishy mattress feels great at a store, but could it harm my back? How does the Leesa compare to the soft value-brand mattresses at these kinds of stores? Are there any other mattresses you'd recommend (under 1k)?

MattressNerd Says

August 19, 2015 at 1:20 pm

If it's shoulder pain after sleeping on your side, it's probably a little too firm. A mattress topper could help with that.

CH Says

August 19, 2015 at 12:43 pm

Thanks for your suggestion. After another night of upper back/shoulder pain, I actually can't be sure whether the Leesa is too soft or too firm for me.

MattressNerd Says

August 18, 2015 at 10:37 pm

If you want something even firmer, you can consider the Nest Alexander Firm. However, it's extremely firm, and I'd be skeptical about that being alright when you're on your side. Here's a review of the lineup.

CH Says

August 18, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Thanks for all the great resources and information on your website. I recently bought a queen-sized Leesa mattress, and after a month, I'm finding it too soft for my tastes. I'm a side and back sleeper and every morning I've woken up with soreness in my upper back. My wife, on the other hand, likes the way the mattress feels. That said, it's not a question of whether we return it, but what we should try next. I'm open to just about anything, but I've been looking at Saatva and Tuft and Needle, among others. Any suggestions? Thanks!

MattressNerd Says

August 15, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Glad to hear it! My cousin also got a Leesa, and he didn't tell me he did it until months after sleeping on it. He tells everybody about how much it's changed how well he sleeps.

Sally Says

August 14, 2015 at 12:10 pm

I purchased the Leesa and it arrived while we were on vacation. It was great to come home, unbox it, take it out of the wrapper, and place it on our bed frame (platform), and had it ready to sleep on that night. We have been sleeping on the Leesa for just two weeks now. My hubby and I are super stoked on the mattress. No movement when one gets up during the night. Back pain has diminished. I use a Fitbit to track my sleep and since I've been sleeping on the Leesa, I only have "restlessness" one or two times a night, compared to six or seven times a night. I think this is attributed to the comfort of the mattress. No shoulder or hip pain either as I am a side/stomach sleeper. Thanks for your research on all of these new mattress in a box products. It really helped to make the decision to purchase a Leesa!

Chris Says

August 8, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Ok. One more question. My wife is getting cold feet about buying a mattress without testing it. What is the closest mattress in terms of feel to a Leesa that one could actually go lie down on in a showroom? Thanks!

Chris Says

August 3, 2015 at 8:56 pm

Thanks! Slats are far apart, so will go with the plywood option. (King bunkie boards are very expensive it seems.)

MattressNerd Says

August 3, 2015 at 5:10 pm

As long as the slats are close enough together. As a good rule of thumb, if the spaces between the slats are thinner than the slats themselves, you should be fine. Otherwise, you can either get what's called a "bunkie board," or if you're industrious, you can cut a piece of plywood and use that.

Chris Says

August 3, 2015 at 2:56 pm

We currently have a king pillow top traditional mattress on a Room and Board bed with wooden slats and no boxspring whatsoever. (The bed was designed to not need a boxspring). Mattress is over 10 years old and shot. Will the Leesa work with nothing underneath it but the wooden slats?

MattressNerd Says

August 2, 2015 at 7:39 pm

Since I get this question a lot, I just added a section on my boxspring recommendations. You can see it in the bottom half of the article. Hope that answers the question.

MattressNerd Says

August 2, 2015 at 7:13 pm

You might be able to keep the old boxspring (especially if it's a rigid foundation with a flat surface on the top), but at 10 years old, it might be worth replacing anyway.

Alison Says

August 2, 2015 at 10:22 am

Thanks so much for your website and great info! We are about to try to Leesa, very convinced by your recommendation. We already have a queen frame with the classic mattress and split box spring on top. The mattress is over 10 years old and needs replacing. We would buy the Instant Foundation recommended above, but could we potentially keep the 10 year old split box spring we have with our new Leesa?

Carrie Says

August 1, 2015 at 6:37 pm

Hello, Sorry if I missed this...I am going to try a King Leesa..I need a box spring type foundation. Using on a bed frame that would be too low for me without the extra foundation layer (plus bed slats far apart). Any specific foundation/boxspring you recommend? Will be on a bed frame which has wood slats that are about 12" apart. Thanks

MattressNerd Says

July 28, 2015 at 7:45 pm

I'd recommend getting what's called a bunkie board to go across the slats to give it a flatter surface.

Rebekah Says

July 27, 2015 at 7:59 am

Thanks for all your very helpful information and reviews! I am planning to use your coupon to buy a Leesa. My only concern is whether it will work with our bed. We have slats 3inches apart. Do you think that will be ok, Or do we need to get an alternative?

MattressNerd Says

July 26, 2015 at 8:38 am

For me, the Yogabed was definitely softer than the Leesa. I prefer the Leesa more overall, since that's the one I chose to keep for every night use. The Leesa is also bouncier on top, so it feels like a latex mattress (which in turn feels a little more like a traditional innerspring) while the Yogabed has a slower response time like a regular memory foam mattress.

Dave Says

July 24, 2015 at 5:42 pm

My wife and I are in the market for a new mattress, have read all the reviews and are really torn between the Leesa and the Yogabed. We are both mainly side sleepers, and she normally prefers a "soft mattress". We've never owned a memory foam or anything like that - it's always been inner spring. We are confused about many of the reviews, some say yogabed is firm and others say it's softer than Leesa. Which is it? Do you have a preference between the two when it comes to firmness and overall quality? Thanks for your assistance. -Dave

MattressNerd Says

July 24, 2015 at 9:19 am

You should be fine, though it's always tough to tell what will work for any particular person. As far as the mattress sleeping hot, I really don't know. I don't have any problems with it and I've used it for 5 months now, but then again, I don't generally get hot when I sleep. On the other hand, I have a fan blowing on me all night during the warm months both to stay cool and as a source of white noise. If you sleep hot now, you'll probably continue to sleep hot on the Leesa. If you don't sleep hot now, you probably won't start sleeping hot on the Leesa.

David Says

July 23, 2015 at 7:20 pm

I have a couple of questions. My wife and I are a little on the larger side (220 and 270), will the Leesa be able to hold us and not compress much? the other questions is, I get hot at night. I almost think I can catch fire. How does this mattress deal with heat? I've heard that a lot of foam mattresses don't dissipate heat too well. Love the review!!

MattressNerd Says

July 22, 2015 at 8:42 pm

Yes, you can fold the Leesa to move it without damaging the mattress. I wouldn't store it folded for an extended period of time, but for the purposes of moving it, it's flexible.

Mel Says

July 19, 2015 at 11:58 pm

Like another commenter, we have an old house with a narrow staircase. The box will fit up our stairs (King mattress), my question is, how easy is it to move the Leesa after "inflation "? Will it "fold" w/o ruining the mattress?

Nicole Says

July 19, 2015 at 4:29 pm

You were right, I do have a temperpedic cloud supreme. Is there any way to make it firmer for my husband and not as warm? If we were to get an upgrade on our temperpedic, is there one you would recommend that does not conform or sink in as much and gives the feel of our old mattress?

Nicole Says

July 14, 2015 at 9:05 pm

I had a Simmons beautyrest Vanderbilt with the ultra plush super pillow top for over 10 years, but the pillowtop has worn. Bought the temperpedic cloud last year and my two complaints are the heat and feeling too soft. My husband wakes up with back pain every morning and I feel like my bottom sinks in. I am 5'5" 130#, my husband is 6'1" 220#. Don't want to make the same mistake again! My questions are: 1. Would you say the Leesa is similiar to the temperpedic? 2. Will it get softer over time and sink in more, especially with warmer weather? 3. Is there a mattress similiar to my old one you would recommend?

Sally Says

July 10, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Thank you! Great to know they are made in the USA! I think I will take the plunge and purchase the queen size Leesa. I will return to comment later and let you know what I think!

MattressNerd Says

July 10, 2015 at 2:58 pm

1) Yes, they're all made in the USA. Virginia, to be exact. 2) That should be fine. Most of the issues I've heard are from people who are too light to compress the foams at all; they find the mattress too hard. So unless one of you is 375 and the other is 100, you shouldn't have an issue. The Leesa (as well as most of these online companies) cater to the average American, and to be honest, being a bit on the heavy side is average for Americans.

Sally Says

July 10, 2015 at 12:43 pm

Two questions: 1) are the materials used in the Leesa made in the USA? I did not see anything on their website about this which leads me to believe the answer is no. Made in the USA is what attracted me to research the Tuft & Needle mattress, which popped up on my FB news feed one day. 2) My husband and I combined are about 475lbs. Will a queen sized Leesa work for us in terms of support and especially maintaining its shape. Thanks for your time!

MattressNerd Says

July 9, 2015 at 9:28 am

You cannot take the cover off. That's why I recommend using a mattress protector.

Shelley Block Says

July 8, 2015 at 11:11 am

I purchased the lessa mattress a couple of months ago. Love it! But would like to know if the cover can be taken off to launder? The tag says spot clean.

MattressNerd Says

July 6, 2015 at 11:34 am

They should be roughly the same in terms of how warm it sleeps. I sleep on a Leesa and I don't experience it getting warm at all. Two Twin XLs is basically the same as getting a king unless you want to lie directly in the middle, where there is a little gap.

Adas Says

July 6, 2015 at 11:09 am

Hi there - sorry if you've already answered this question. But I am a hot and restless sleeper (my wife and I are currently on a cheap Chinese memory foam Queen) and we are looking to upgrade to either a King or two Twin XL's. I am very intrigued by the Leesa, and your comments about it sleeping cool. I have also looked at a Serta iSeries Vantage Plus, and really liked that bed. Would you suggest that the Vantage sleeps cooler (being a hybrid), or would the Leesa and the Vantage be pretty much the same on that front? I'm still in two minds about the two Twin XL option v a King - I like the idea of different mattresses so that my wife and I can have different mattresses if we need to, but in a perfect world I would prefer a King... Thanks Adas

MattressNerd Says

July 2, 2015 at 7:50 pm

My review does have a disclosure, right below the related articles, and ABOVE the box in which you had to type to make this comment (and way above the Amazon disclosure in the footer). I have an affiliate relationship with about a dozen companies, which makes me less biased in my opinion.

Ham Hawk Says

July 2, 2015 at 7:31 pm

First, I want to say that I found your site via your reddit AMA and I appreciate you sharing your time and knowledge with people. I've learned a lot from reading your tips. Second, I appreciate that your site clearly explains that you use Amazon referral links as a revenue source. You're providing a valuable service and you definitely deserve to be paid for it. Lastly, while reading this review it seemed like you might have a similar relationship with Leesa. I don't mean to suggest that any such relationship caused bias in your review. I'm just writing this to suggest that reviews like these might benefit from a disclosure statement along the lines of the one in your website's footer.

MattressNerd Says

July 1, 2015 at 11:24 am

It's really impossible to tell which mattress will be good for which person. Weight isn't the only thing to take into consideration. Body shape and weight distribution come into play as well. The Leesa is on the firmer side, but if necessary you can always buy a mattress topper to make it softer on top if it's too firm. On the flip side, if you get a mattress that's too soft, there's no way to make the mattress firmer. In either case, getting a Leesa isn't that risky, since you can get a full refund within 100 days.

Josh Moreno Says

July 1, 2015 at 9:42 am

Hi, I have been looking into mattresses for a while and I have noticed that the Leesa seems to be at the top of most website's lists. But I am looking for a recommendation! I weigh in at 150 and my girlfriend is at 115 or so. We both mostly sleep on our side, but sometimes we sleep on our backs or stomach. Do you feel this bed would be right for us? Or do you feel that we would be better off with a softer mattress? If so, do you have any recommendations for a softer mattress? Thank you so much for your website, it's helped tremendously!

MattressNerd Says

June 28, 2015 at 7:51 am

I'm 240 and I prefer the Leesa to any of the direct-to-consumer models I've tried. I'm also a side sleeper, so I needed something to contour to my shoulder.

MattressNerd Says

June 28, 2015 at 7:47 am

I haven't tried anything by Nest bedding. The most comfortable bed I ever slept on was discontinued years ago, called the Dr. Breus Signature elite. It cost $3500 in a queen size. The second most comfortable I've ever slept on has been the Leesa. There have been other mattresses that I've tried that I think I like slightly more than the Leesa, but I've never spent a whole night on any of them, and they cost twice as much and don't have the same kind of return policy.

HiM8ns Says

June 27, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Have you heard anything about the Nest Alexander Bed? I am hearing great things about it and am debating between the Leesa and the Alexander Select Signature bed. What is the MOST comfortable bed you have slept on?

Liesa Williams Says

June 27, 2015 at 12:25 am

Jack, I wanted to read the review of the lady that said she and her husband were heavier, I have the same problem 220 and my husband 300, I would just like to know would you recommend the Leesa?? Thank You

MattressNerd Says

June 19, 2015 at 1:22 pm

Putting two Twin XLs together is fine for a Leesa. I'd recommend this from Amazon instead of the one you linked. It's basically the same thing but less expensive. It's fine to use memory foam toppers on a Leesa. If you find the Leesa too hard, and don't want to go through the trouble of returning it and shopping for another mattress, getting a topper is an easy way to make it feel a bit softer up top.

Diana Says

June 18, 2015 at 6:36 pm

First of all, thank you very much for your extremely helpful and well-researched website. It has been a goldmine as we consider purchasing a new mattress. We are in the somewhat unfortunate situation of living in an old house with a stairwell so narrow that nothing larger than a full-sized mattress can actually get upstairs. We sleep on a full now, but it is too small for two humans and two bed-hogging dogs. We ordered a king from Keetsa, but even the box was too large to get upstairs (the queen probably would not have fit either, but I do not wish to cause the good people at Keetsa any more trouble by ordering and sending back another mattress). We have decided to purchase two twin XLs and join them. My question is, do you think Leesa mattresses would work well when conjoined into a pseudo-king this way? And do you have any advice on the best means to conjoin mattresses - i.e., does something like this work: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NQEWVZY/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=3I3YAY6MP1KAF&coliid=I2I0Y07T8FXKLO Finally, in your opinion, would a memory foam (or other) topper work well on top of the Leesa mattress? Thanks for the help!

MattressNerd Says

June 3, 2015 at 12:27 pm

I'd expect the Leesa to feel comfortable for at least 5 years, though they say it shouldn't break down for at least 10. Five should be a conservative estimate. I've only had mine for a few months, but it isn't showing any signs of wearing at all so far. As far as not liking memory foam, even though the Leesa has some memory foam in it, you will not feel stuck. It bounces back pretty easily. The Simmons Beautyrest Recharge is a fine mattress, but the difference is they don't have a return policy. It wouldn't be a bad idea to try the Leesa first, and if it works, great. If it doesn't, get a full refund and THEN go for the Beautyrest Recharge.

Sarah Says

June 2, 2015 at 5:09 pm

I'm curious....any idea on the longevity of these types of mattresses vs. the standard mattress types? After a back fusion surgery, I'm looking for something firm enough that I can move from side to stomach to side, but soft enough that it doesn't cause pain on my hips or shoulders. I was looking at the Simmons Recharge Lux Firm, but now after looking online for hours at reviews....I'm tempted to try the Leesa, especially if you think it has a medium firm support? I do not like memory foam - I feel stuck when I sink down! I'd appreciate any input you might have, I'm hoping to purchase this week. Sarah

John Says

May 30, 2015 at 1:31 pm

protector, i meant! lol

John Says

May 30, 2015 at 1:30 pm

I just purchased the Leesa king size, and was wondering if you have any preference to a mattress protestor, sheet set, and comforter that would fit a 10" king size bed! Any suggestions? they would be greatly appreciated!

MattressNerd Says

May 30, 2015 at 7:53 am

Depends on the quality you're looking for. Something like this on Amazon should be good quality and breathable.

Melissa Says

May 29, 2015 at 9:56 am

Can you recommend a mattress protector for the Leesa?

MattressNerd Says

May 18, 2015 at 8:30 pm

I've had 3 Leesas, and mine were pretty much completely "inflated" within a few hours. The king took longer than the twins, but even the king was ready to go by the time I used it that night (though I set it up at about 2pm, and went to bed at 11, so it was longer than 4 hours. I didn't check on it at the 4 hour mark). It might be worthwhile contacting their customer support to see what they suggest if it isn't fully inflated by tomorrow morning.

Adam Says

May 18, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Purchased the Leesa. Just got it today. It's been set up for about four hours. It hasn't fully expanded to 10 inches yet and I notice that near the headboard- maybe 1/4 of the mattress is currently about 8 inches and the rest is about 9". Did you experience this? How long till fully inflated? Right now the back 1/4 of mattress by headboard is sloping and like I said an inch less inflated. Thanks!

Heather Says

May 12, 2015 at 10:08 am

THANK-YOU!!! The link to amazon is exactly what I needed!!!

MattressNerd Says

May 12, 2015 at 9:22 am

A boxspring with actual springs in it isn't good for the foam, but those are rare. Any solid platform would do (or a slatted foundation in which the slats are close together). You said you want to put a "foundation mattress" under them. Putting one mattress on top of another is a terrible idea. A mattress isn't designed to support another mattress. You need something strong. Something like this would work.

Heather Says

May 11, 2015 at 9:45 pm

I'm purchasing 3 twin Leesa mattresses this week. I want to put a foundation mattress under them. I do not plan on using a platform bed frame. We are tall and do not like low beds. What foundation do you recommend. I have read the traditional box springs can be damaging to the foam. Thank-you for your insight.

MattressNerd Says

May 10, 2015 at 1:45 pm

If the Leesa sags 1 inch from the surface at any point within 10 years, it's covered under the warranty. (For coil mattresses, it's generally 1.5 inches) I don't suspect that would be a problem.

Liane Says

May 8, 2015 at 6:01 pm

I am debating on a new mattress and as you pointed out I spend 1/3 of my day there so I should invest in a good one. Leaning towards Leesa or Keetsa as I am a side sleeper that rolls around at night and have periodic back and shoulder pain. One of my peeves about my pillow top coil mattress is that it had a divot over time and I hated rolling into the ditch. It couldn't be flipped and wasn't supposed to be rotated. I'm out of warranty and need a new mattress but with my issues/concerns in mind I am trying to determine what would be best. Of course the Leesa return policy is great but I'm just scared of the ditch issue over time.

AMcB Says

May 4, 2015 at 12:52 am

Love the informative thread here regarding the Leesa. You mentioned a platform, is this used instead of a box spring? If so, where is the most affordable place to purchase one?

RJ Says

April 24, 2015 at 9:00 pm

Thanks for such a stellar review and information. I started seriously considering the Leesa based on your review. I did a lot of research and ended up purchasing one (sorry, I used their $75 promo instead of your $60 coupon). The mattress arrived eight days after I placed my order. I am 5'5" and overweight at 215lb, and although I find the Leesa extremely comfortable, it is also very, very soft for me. I never thought of myself as liking firm mattresses, so I was surprised to find myself thinking that the Leesa feels very squishy to me. I'm not sure if it would improve over time if I lost weight, or if the mattress is only going to get softer with time. I have a wire platform bed, so should I invest in a bed with a solid platform? Would that make any appreciable difference? I would imagine that any mattress that is compressable and shipped in a roll is going to be pretty soft. Do you have any recommendations for mattresses in the same class as the Leesa, but are perhaps firmer and more buoyant?

MattressNerd Says

April 21, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Mine went away within a day. Just have to open up the windows as it airs out. If you have a really sensitive nose, you might be able to detect it longer. But I have two Leesas, and for both of them, they were gone within a day (though I anticipated the smell both times, and opened them with the window open nearby.)

Josie Says

April 21, 2015 at 9:05 pm

My husband and I purchased a Leesa and it's been out of the box for about 24 hours. We slept on it last night and it feels great. However, the smell is really strong. Will this go away soon? I noticed it when I came home as the whole apartment smelled. Took me a while to figure out it was the mattress. Thanks!!

MattressNerd Says

April 9, 2015 at 9:32 pm

While I haven't tried Nature's Sleep, they seem just like normal memory foam mattresses. They also have no free trial period, so it's a much bigger risk to get one of those. Basically, if you've tried one generic memory foam mattress, you get a sense for how most of them feel. The Leesa is a bit different because of the Avena layer up top. It adds a springiness and a resilience up top that memory foam doesn't have.

Ashley Says

April 9, 2015 at 8:48 pm

My husband and I are looking at purchasing a new mattress, he's a rather large guy and I'm quite small yet we both wake up with uncomfortable back pain from lack of proper support with our queen mattress. I really dig the ideology (if you will) of Leesa and it sounds like a wonderful option (especially considering the return policy, which really can't be beat) but how does it compare to Nature's Sleep mattresses? With a coupon they are about the same price and I know that Nature's Sleep has more options but if you were to compare a similar mattress in Natrue's Sleep to Leesa, what would you suggest? Love your review!

MattressNerd Says

April 4, 2015 at 8:21 am

That's not really what the mattress was designed for... but maybe. That kind of activity will reduce the lifespan of any mattress that you get, Leesa included.

Shilo Says

April 4, 2015 at 1:09 am

I have two 85# labrador retrievers who not only sleep with me, but also bounce, jump and play on my bed all day while I am at work. In your honest opinion, would the Leesa mattress hold up to that kind of activity? Thanks for your exceptional reviews, I'm very impressed!

MattressNerd Says

March 28, 2015 at 6:53 pm

One of my favorite mattresses of all time (now sitting in my guest room because it's queen, and I need a king size) is the Dr Breus Signature Elite, which is a foam and latex mattress. It's latex on the top with a HR poly foam base. However, it retailed for over 3k. So, I love latex mattresses, but you're right that they are expensive. The Leesa is bouncier than memory foam. The Avena foam up top works a lot like latex, so it springs right back. It does not leave an impression of your hand when you pull it away.

Adam Says

March 28, 2015 at 10:34 am

I re-wrote my previous comment. I’d really love to get a 2-3 layer all latex mattress. But they’re over 2k for a queen. Did you consider latex as well? I’ve never slept on latex, but from what I’ve read it’s amazing -but expensive. I slept on the kind of memory foam that leaves an impression of your hand for example before slowly reforming which I didn’t like. Is Leesa like that? Thanks!

MattressNerd Says

March 28, 2015 at 9:45 am

Yes, I've tried both and the Leesa is a bit softer than the Tuft and Needle.

t. Says

March 28, 2015 at 3:39 am

just curious, but, i currently have a tuft and needle and am thinking about selling it to get a leesa. is the leesa generally considered to be a tad softer than the tuft and needle (the newer configuration, not the older ones that i hear were very firm)?

MattressNerd Says

March 9, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Check your email for a response. It's longer and more detailed than I want to clutter up the comments section with. (Anybody else reading this feel free to email me as well at jack at mattressnerd.com if you need personalized recommendations)

Brett Says

March 3, 2015 at 8:39 am

I figured that but thought I would ask! Thanks!

MattressNerd Says

February 25, 2015 at 3:58 pm

You can rotate it, but you can't flip it. It's built from the bottom up (like most mattresses these days).

Brett Says

February 24, 2015 at 1:29 pm

Do you have to "flip" this mattress? I have a California King that we have had for 10 years and we constantly have to flip it so my "valley" I sleep in goes away (at least for a little while".

Aliza Karkowsky Says

February 15, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Hi Cynthia, I am built like you - petite, small frame, 100 lbs - but with curves, like most women. I just slept on my Leesa for the first time last night and it was too firm to allow my curves to sink in the way I was hoping. The mattress is really nice, looks and feels like quality, but it might be too firm/I might not weigh enough to get it to conform to my shape. It's only been one night and I plan to give it at least a month or two because it might need to break in a bit, but just thought I'd share my experience thus far. I'll update later! Good luck, Aliza

MattressNerd Says

February 13, 2015 at 7:06 am

You give them a call and set up a return. I think you have to keep it for 30 days to get used to it and to let it break in to the correct softness. I'm not sure of the specifics of how you return it though. I don't know if they ask you to donate it somewhere or what. But if you contact them, they'll walk you through it.

Joyce Says

February 12, 2015 at 6:47 pm

If you decide to return how does this work?

MattressNerd Says

January 19, 2015 at 8:37 pm

That's a great question that I don't know the answer to. I know that memory foam gets soft when heated up, but the memory foam isn't on top. With foam mattresses in general you need to make sure the heating pad up top doesn't get too hot, otherwise the foam can actually melt. I'd imagine that as long as you don't turn the heating pad up to 11 (i.e. keep it only a little warm) it should be fine. But, I'd email Leesa's support team to find out for sure.

David Says

January 19, 2015 at 11:56 am

Does this type of mattress allow a heated mattress pad? We use it just in the colder months.

MattressNerd Says

January 18, 2015 at 10:16 am

That depends on what you'd replace it with. I'd give it another week or so to see if it "breaks in" a little. If you're planning on switching to something about the same price or less, it might make sense to return it. If you'd be spending more money on a new mattress, it probably makes more sense to get a topper from Amazon for $100 bucks. That will certainly make it feel softer. Something like this gets good reviews on Amazon.

MattressNerd Says

January 18, 2015 at 10:09 am

The Leesa will be good at separating motion. It won't be quite as good as Tempurpedic at that (the ones with the wine glass commercial), but it should be far better than almost any coil mattress. The thing with Tempurpedic is it costs triple the money. So, if you have 3,000 to spend on a mattress, I might recommend the Tempurpedic Cloud Supreme Breeze or something similar for motion transfer. Otherwise, the Leesa will do just fine, since there are no coils.

Brooke Says

January 17, 2015 at 5:04 pm

I recently purchased a Leesa and my husband & I are finding it a little too firm so far (it's been about 10 days). Should I get a mattress topper to soften it or give up on it and return? We're both fairly small, light people.

Bea Says

January 15, 2015 at 4:07 pm

I’m wondering about sleeping with someone else and the movement transfer. That’s why I need a new mattress. My husband scratches his nose and my old mattress jiggles like jello and I wake up. Thoughts?

MattressNerd Says

December 19, 2014 at 2:18 pm

I doubt this will be too firm for you, but everybody's different. Usually, light thin people do better with a softer mattress, and this is the softest of the online direct-to-consumer mattresses out there. I certainly wouldn't call it "mushy," though. If it doesn't work for you, you can always return it for a full refund, so it's a low-risk purchase.

MattressNerd Says

December 19, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Maybe a little at first, but it dissipated very quickly. I'd say give it an hour or two. It's not even a bad smell. It's like a "new car" smell. That said, some people are more sensitive than others. While I didn't notice it after a few hours, some people still notice it a day or two later.

KC Says

December 18, 2014 at 2:49 am

Does this mattress smell weird when it's unpacked? I noticed that the foam topper and the nice foam pillows I got had a pretty gross smell for about a week after they were taken out of the plastic.

Cynthia Bussey Says

December 17, 2014 at 10:10 am

I've been online shopping for a mattress and I have to say, I really like how clear and straightforward your reviews are. I HATE the idea of actually going into a mattress store, so this is looking good. I just bought a Japanese platform bed, twin, ( Haiku Designs) and this is my next step. H.D. sells mattresses, but they are WAY out of my price range. I bought their simplest (and cheapest) bed, and it's beautiful. So far, the Leesa mattress looks best, but I have one question: I'm small-boned, 105 pounds. Do you think it might be too firm? Very firm mattresses are painful, but so are mushy ones. Do you hear from any small people like me regarding mattress firmness? Also, I'm broke enough now so that I'll have to put my purchase on a credit card, so your $50 off coupon sounds good. Thanks for any advice, Cynthia

Sign up for The Mattress Nerd newsletter: