Stearns and Foster Comparison and Review

Disclosure: This site receives a payment from US Mattress, Sears, Macy’s or Wayfair when you purchase a product using any links to that company in this article

Stearns & Foster is a luxury brand of mattress made by the same company that does Tempurpedic and Sealy. It functions as the “high end” of the Sealy brand. They tend to be more expensive than the average mattress, and it’s somewhat unclear whether it’s worth the price. In this article, I’ll help comparison shop for Stearns and Foster (since they’re sold under different names at different retailers) and give an overall review of the brand.

Stearns & Foster Comparison

It’s somewhat difficult to compare Stearns & Foster, not just because they’re sold under different names everywhere, but because they’re a “MAP” product, meaning there is a Minimum Advertised Price retailers are allowed to sell them at. So, you’ll generally find them at that minimum price. Some retailers have that as roughly the normal retail price, and others will have a “list” price that is double the MAP price, and perpetually have it on a “50% off sale.” Regardless, you’re unlikely to do better than the minimum price.

So, as you’re comparison shopping, consider things like the delivery charge, how quickly they can deliver, the exchange policy and sales tax (US Mattress doesn’t charge it in most of the country, for example) to help break the tie.

Below is the comparison chart at several major retailers.

LineupUS MattressWayfairMacy'sSearsBloomingdales
EstateAddison Grace Luxury FirmCandidate I FirmGarrick Luxury FirmHutsonville Luxury FirmAronoff Luxury Firm
Addison Grace Luxury Cushion FirmCandidate II Cushion FirmGarrick Luxury Cushion FirmHutsonville Luxury Cushion FirmAronoff Luxury Cushion Firm
Addison Grace Luxury PlushCandidate III Plush-Hutsonville Luxury PlushAronoff Luxury Plush
Addison Grace Luxury Cushion Firm Euro PillowtopCandidate IV Firm PillowtopGarrick Luxury Cushion Firm Euro PillowtopHutsonville Luxury Cushion Firm Euro PillowtopAronoff Luxury Cushion Firm Euro Pillowtop
Addison Grace Luxury Plush Euro PillowtopCandidate V Plush PillowotpGarrick Luxury Plush Euro PillowtopHutsonville Luxury Plush PillowtopAronoff Luxury Plush Euro Pillowtop
Bella Claire Ultra FirmBridle III Extra FirmPalace Luxury Ultra FirmMcKee Luxury Ultra FirmBridlegate Luxury Ultra Firm
Bella Claire Luxury FirmBridle I FirmPalace Luxury FirmMcKee Luxury FirmBridlegate Luxury Firm
Bella Claire PlushBridle II PlushPalace Luxury PlushMcKee Luxury PlushBridlegate Luxury Plush
Bella Claire Luxury Firm Euro PillowtopBridle IV Firm PillowtopPalace Luxury Firm Euro PillowtopMcKee Luxury Firm Euro PillowtopBridlegate Luxury Cushion Firm Euro Pillowtop
Bella Claire Plush Euro Pillowtop-Palace Luxury Plush Euro PillowtopMcKee Luxury Plush Euro PillowtopBridlegate Luxury Plush Pillowtop
Lux Estate--Belleville Luxury Ultra FirmEastwood Ultra Firm-
Gabriella Marie Luxury FirmMcAlpin FirmEverwood Luxury FirmMiddletown Luxury FirmRookwood Luxury Firm
Fiona Rose Luxury Cushion Firm Euro PillowtopGallium Firm PillowtopGotland Luxury Firm Euro PillowtopPineville Luxury Firm Euro PillowtopCincinnatian Luxury Cushion Firm Euro Pillowtop
Eileen Leigh Luxury Plush Euro PillowtopPompano Plush PillowtopSalzburg Luxury Plush Euro PillowtopOwentown Luxury PlushWelsh Hills Luxury Plush Euro Pillowtop
Lux Estate HybridLola Marie Luxury FirmShylah Firm-Richlawn Luxury Firm-
Kenna Rose Luxury Cushion FirmAlwyn Cushion Firm-Shivley Luxury Cushion FirmLakelet Luxury Firm
Mary Leigh Luxury PlushMagnes Plush-Whitesburg Luxury Plush-
ReserveReserve No. 3 Luxury Firm Euro Pillowtop-Reserve No. 03 Luxury Firm Euro PillowtopReserve No. 3 Luxury Firm Euro PillowtopReserve No. 3 Luxury Firm Euro Pillowtop
Reserve No. 2 Luxury Plush Euro Pillowtop-Reserve No. 02 Luxury Plush Euro PillowtopReserve No. 2 Luxury Plush Euro PillowtopReserve No. 2 Luxury Plush Euro Pillowto
Reserve No. 1 Luxury Ultra Plush Euro Pillowtop-Reserve No. 01 Luxury Ultra Plush Euro PillowtopReserve No. 1 Luxury Ultra Plush Euro PillowtopReserve No. 1 Luxury Ultra Plush Euro Pillowtop

If you saw a Stearns & Foster at a retailer not on the above list, contact me through the form on my comparison shopping page and I’ll match it to one of the rows on the above chart.

Stearns & Foster Review

Previously, I was not a big fan of Stearns and Foster. They made some changes to this year’s lineup which I think bodes well for the lineup. Previously, S&F mattresses focused on using “fancy-sounding” material, like “silk-infused” fabric, which isn’t actually any better than any other type of fabric. It just ends up being more expensive for the sake of “sounding luxurious.” This year (2017 as I’m writing this), they’re using more quality materials. For example, using a Tencel fabric rather than a “silk infused” fabric, and not using “Mongolian Horse Hair” like older models had.

Additionally, their average customer satisfaction ratings have been improving. On review aggregation site, Sleep Like The Dead, S&F has increased their average customer satisfaction from 58% to 62%. While that is still a fairly low number, it’s trending in the right direction.

The thing that hasn’t changed is their price. They’re still a “MAP” product, as mentioned above, so it’s difficult to get a good deal on S&F. On the high end of the lineup, you’re paying a lot of extra money for features which are somewhat redundant. There’s only so much stuff you can pack into a mattress before you hit the point of diminishing returns. The higher end Stearns & Foster mattresses have definitely hit that limit.

Conclusion

If of all the mattresses you tried out in the showroom, a Stearns & Foster was the most comfortable and kept you most supported, and it’s in your price range, it’s a decent mattress. It’s a little on the expensive side for what you get in my opinion, but it’s not too far out of the ballpark. Use my comparison chart to make sure you’re getting the lowest price, and pick the best overall offer (after factoring in tax, delivery, etc).

Disclosure: This site receives a payment from US Mattress, Sears, Macy’s or Wayfair when you purchase a product using any links to that company in this article

Related Articles

Mattress Buying Guide

Mattress Comparison Charts

Mattress Coupons

Additional Resources

 

Questions & Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Carlo Chechile Says

August 12, 2018 at 3:50 pm

Do you have any info on the following Stearns & Foster Mattress at Costco "Kirkland Signature by Stearns and Foster Hope Bay King Mattress with Foundation" How does it compare to other Stearns and Foster Mattresses?

Robert Says

August 10, 2018 at 5:29 pm

What is the difference between La Fiointini II Lux Cushion firm and villa ascoli IV luxury cushion firmeuto pillow tp

Paul kosiba Says

August 7, 2018 at 7:55 pm

We are looking at the costco Kirkland Stearns and Foster mattress and we are wondering which bed it is equivalent to in the other Stearns and Foster mattresses sold in other stores?

Joanne korn Says

August 1, 2018 at 4:47 pm

The one I am interested in is Oak Terrace 1

Bob Dudash Says

July 29, 2018 at 11:18 pm

does consumer reports cover the sterns and foster hope bay that Costco sell under a different name ?

Steven Mark Grishman Says

July 23, 2018 at 12:14 pm

what is the difference between the following stearns and foster mattresses: Rarity - $2399 luxury plush( Havery's Furniture Store) vs $3400 salzburg luxury plush euro pillow top(Macy's vs the $3100 morning view luxury cushion firm(Macy's)? is stearns and foster better than beauty rest black - katarina $3199 , vivianne $3100, nadia $3379 or how do they compare to these 3 Thank you

ethel deboer Says

July 21, 2018 at 12:58 pm

Thank you for your hard work in keeping this site going! I too, like others below would like to know how the S & F Costco Hope Bay compares to the other Stearns and Foster beds.

Samin Says

July 15, 2018 at 11:48 am

Hi. Thanks for the detailed review. You are awesome! Would you know how Macy’s Palace luxury firm compares to wayfair, US mattress or sears collection?

Mike Says

July 15, 2018 at 8:03 am

Stearns and Foster Hope bay at Costco is comparable to what?

maggie deng Says

July 7, 2018 at 9:26 pm

hi, how is stern & foster Scarborough III ultra firm compare to the Belleville?

Kathy Says

July 7, 2018 at 7:05 pm

I’ve been to a store selling Seconds and found the Stearns and Foster Estate and the Stearns and Foster Hope Bay. The sales agent told me that the Hope Bay mattress has a few more features than the Estate. I really like the feel of both. Could you tell me the comparison?

Carey D Baughman Says

July 6, 2018 at 12:51 am

I am looking at La Emilia Luxury Plush Euro Pillowtop. The height of the mattress is 15.5 and is in the Estate Collection. I found this mattress at Mattress Warehouse in Mentor, OH 44060. Do you know what other names this mattress goes by so I can do comparisons with other stores. Thanks for your help.

Lois Says

July 4, 2018 at 12:17 am

Looking for Ella Grace Luxury Euro top...from JCPenneys compared to Garrick Luxury Cushion foam euro top from Macy's.

MattressNerd Says

June 19, 2018 at 8:53 am

It's a step down from the Estate collection sold elsewhere. It's only a minor difference, but they use thicker layers of the more basic foams.

MattressNerd Says

June 19, 2018 at 8:52 am

It's difficult to find a mattress that is built like an old Stearns. Maybe an Aireloom or Vispring something along those lines. Unfortunately, I have no idea what is available in Hawaii.

Cindy Fewell Says

June 18, 2018 at 10:44 pm

Thank you for your informative write up it very helpful. Can you give me your option on the Kirkland Signature™ by Stearns & Foster® Hope Bay | Pillowtop Cushion Firm. Here are some of it's features & materials: PrimaCool™ Performance Fabric Stretch-knit fabric; AdvancedAdapt™ Foam; PrimaSense™ Gel Foam; IntelliCoil® Advanced; PrecisionEdge™ System; and Stearns & Foster® Air Vents. The Queen weighs 134# and retails at Costco for $999. Any information or insight you can provide is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Jerry Devlin Says

June 18, 2018 at 4:52 pm

Our Stearns & Foster Cal King = 24 years old & needs to go. After hours of "research", we settled on Saatva Cal King mattress (only) but it turns out they do not ship to Hawaii. Shippers want $300 -$500 to ship it. Can you recommend a Cal King alternative top Saatva? We do not think a bed-in-abox will serve use wee. Thank you.

Lawaine Says

June 16, 2018 at 2:02 pm

We just looked at the Sterns and Foster Oak Terrace Lux Plush. Can you tell me how firm/soft the rating is?

Joseph Says

June 5, 2018 at 6:11 pm

I flund a sterns and foster reserve no 2 made in april 2018 for $ 2360 plus two sealy reflexion 4 bases with it. Dies the price make it an acceptable deal or is the quality not great no matywr waht?

lois Says

June 3, 2018 at 8:58 pm

ella grace luxury firm - looking for a tight top-queen or king - penny's carries - what is comparison

Beverly Williams Says

May 15, 2018 at 10:20 am

I inherited a "Branford" Stearns and Foster queen mattress set from my parents in 2005. We are still sleeping on it, though it is a bit too firm for our tastes. I suspect that they purchased the set sometime in the late 80's, or early 90's. Can you tell me when this particular model was sold? They probably purchased it in Texas when they moved from Arkansas, back to Texas, where they had lived most of their lives.

Connie Hays Says

April 15, 2018 at 6:11 pm

Where does the Kirkland Signature by Stearns & Foster Hope Bay mattress fall on your chart?

Eileen Says

March 31, 2018 at 8:42 pm

I have a Sterns & Foster "Hastings Buckingham mattress from 1999. What is the name of the equivalent mattress today.

Dave Says

March 19, 2018 at 8:50 pm

Difference between SF Kirkland King HopeBay Lux Cushion firm Euro vs SF Estate Lux Everwood from Macys

Jen Harper Says

March 1, 2018 at 3:20 pm

We are side sleepers and my husband has back problems. Just checked out S & F Founder's Collection firm at The Brick. What can we compare this with and has it been reviewed? Thx

Robert L. Gold Says

February 26, 2018 at 3:39 pm

I'm interested in a review of Stearns and Foster 2017 McKee, ultra firm king-size mattress. I want hard surface that will remain that way.

David Says

February 23, 2018 at 12:36 pm

Boscovs have a s&f Villa brindisi lux firm?

Abe Says

February 22, 2018 at 11:27 am

What is Raymours & Flanigans brand name equivalent to Macys S&F Estate Garrick Luxury Firm

Gene Says

February 20, 2018 at 10:06 am

I don't see any names offered by Brandsmart. Are Baywood #518757, Scarborough IV, and Scarborough V among the models listed above? If so, where do they fall? What do you know about them? On the floor they talk about all of the good stuff, more and heavier coils, extra strength abound the edges, memory foam, etc. I need to know now because i am buying a new mattress. Thank you

Kyle Depew Says

February 19, 2018 at 8:17 am

Just purchased a S&F Reserve No. 2. In King for $3000 including tax, delivery, and mattress pad. More than we wanted to spend but never felt a mattress so amazing in the 150 we tried.

Andria Says

February 17, 2018 at 12:58 pm

My friend bought her S&F mattress from a mattress discount store. It's a king-size, lux estate hybrid plush called la campiano. I went to do the same but in the queen the plush was named Caldera. I think hers is softer but don't know what I could exchange to fit something equivalent to hers. Any ideas? They're both plush but is there a regular plush vs a softer plush? I still wake up with hip pain when I sleep on my side and she no longer does, and that's my goal. Thanks in advance.

Elisa Berg Says

February 15, 2018 at 10:11 pm

I just bought a new S & F plush w. euro top for $500 w. box spring. I am so excited at the comfort for the price and am ok with a shorter lifespan at that price.

dolores landis Says

February 14, 2018 at 9:01 pm

what about the stearns & foster la castello 11 luxury plush we just purchased one for &1399.99 adn could still cancel it if the price is not right. Not delovered until friday Help!!

george Says

February 6, 2018 at 1:41 pm

What about the Oak Terrace pillow top

Tracy Says

January 26, 2018 at 2:01 pm

Fairmont has the Stearns and Foster (both for Canada and US). What lineup is this a part of or what is it comparable to? Thanks.

Frank J Fera Says

January 20, 2018 at 4:55 pm

Hi Looking at lux estate hybrid collection. Caldera line King running 4711.99 Any comments to help. We are overwhelmed

MattressNerd Says

January 19, 2018 at 8:32 am

That's the Gabriella Marie Cushion Firm, in the Lux Estate collection.

MattressNerd Says

January 19, 2018 at 8:30 am

That's the same as the Bella Claire Plush Pillowtop on my chart and ones in that row.

John Sutton Says

January 19, 2018 at 1:39 am

I am looking at a S/F Cal.King mattress that says Evening Stone as the model. Is this mattress firm or soft? Sold at Ashley furniture stores in Calif. Thanks

Lee Says

January 18, 2018 at 10:57 pm

Can you tell me where the Hannah grace plush Euro top falls and if you’ve heard anything? This is our third s&f and we love them.

MattressNerd Says

January 15, 2018 at 10:28 pm

The Kirkland Signature line is a small step below the Estate collection that many other places sell. Kirkland Signature is an exclusive to Costco.

Michelle Shepherd Says

January 15, 2018 at 10:13 pm

Kirkland signature Stefan’s and Foster Hope Bay

Mark Cullen Says

January 15, 2018 at 12:33 pm

Greetings, I found a mattress at Macy's I really like: Stearns and Fosters' Garrick Luxury Firm from their Estate Collection. It's right in the comfort level between firm and extra firm that I've been looking for and is hard to find. I was distressed to read the label and see that there is cashmere woven into the top layer, and my hands were itching within 5 minutes of having touched the surface. Rats! Do you know if Stearns and Foster makes any mattresses without "threads of silk and cashmere"? Or is it possible to special-order this mattress without the wool? I am amazed they would have as an essential component something so many are so allergic to. Many thanks for your help.

Brad Says

January 6, 2018 at 6:15 pm

1) I am choosing between the following two Stearns and Foster queen mattresses: Hustonville cushion firm pillowtop and Estate Collection Garrick cushion firm euro pillowtop. Sears and Macy's are being quite evasive in evaluating my choice so I'd appreciate your input; 2) I would like to purchase a very basic elevating mechanism that raises both ends of the mattress. Both Sears and Macy's have what they call a "Universal" unit vs. a nicer model. Price for the former is $799 and for the latter, it ranges up to roughly $1,300. The head and foot raising is the only feature I need. Have you heard whether their Universal units are reliable? Thanks very much for your help.

Pamela J. DeDona Says

January 3, 2018 at 3:30 pm

i purchased a stearns & foster estate garrick luxury plus mattress from Macys. It is a King size and on a platform bed (with slats.) a few months after sleeping on it we noticed the mattress sinking on each end-it felt like the middle was higher. We called Macys and they came out and did measure and agreed to the sinking. They would not replace the mattress because they said under warranty you needed a bunky board. We were so upset because the salesman at Macys said if you want a higher bed buy a boxspring if not lay it on the slats. You go to Macys thinking you have knowledgeable sales people, NOT! At any rate, I purchased the bunky board and i hope they do not say there was a certain type i needed. I am so upset as we paid good money for this mattress and you feel like you are climbing a bit of a hill if you try to roll to the middle of the bed. Really stinks. It was purchased in April of 2016 but we only used it for about 6 mo as it is a seasonal condo. Wonder if others had this issue with the S and F mattresses. Thank you in advance

Karie Caldwell Says

December 28, 2017 at 11:53 am

Hi, I found a Stearns & Foster mattress I liked at a local retailer here in Idaho. They have it named the "Oak Terrace V" Estate Collection. Could you tell me what that translates to at major retailers?

MattressNerd Says

December 27, 2017 at 9:05 pm

I don't have experience with it, no. I've just looked at the specs and compared them to the specs at other retailers to make sure they're the same mattress. It seems to use decent materials (and I like what I see in this year's models better than the older models they replaced), but I don't have any first-hand experience.

STEVE Says

December 27, 2017 at 1:42 pm

Have you had experience with the Stearns and Foster Bella Claire Luxury Firm Queen size mattress? I have one coming as a Sealy pillowtop exchange and now am looking at reviews and hope I did the right thing. Thank you, Steve

Patrick Says

December 27, 2017 at 10:06 am

it is the Lakelet Hybrid

Patrick Says

December 27, 2017 at 9:56 am

Can you tell me what the equivalent is for the S+F Estate Luxury Lake Hybrid TT sold at Art Van Furniture?

Gina Says

December 26, 2017 at 10:53 am

I purchased a S&F matttess in January 2017 and absolutely love it. It is the most come come all mattress I have ever slept on. I would buy another Stearns and Foster in the future. I cannot speak so much to the long Jevity, since I’m only coming up on a year. But in terms of initial come for the mattress is extraordinary. Also, I generally like for mattresses but I did find that the Stearns and Foster mattresses are firmer than most. You should keep that in mind when purchasing. You may need to purchase a S&F with less firmness.

Lou Ann Wagner Says

December 24, 2017 at 12:06 am

Stearns & Foster -off gassing? My new mattress is literally, making me sick. Have you heard of this?

MattressNerd Says

December 14, 2017 at 10:30 am

Thanks for writing. It's the same as the Addison Grace and ones in that row.

GS Says

December 14, 2017 at 9:50 am

I don't see the Estate Oak Terrace mattress in your S&F models listing breakdown. Can you tell me which model that is on your list it could also be named. thanks

MattressNerd Says

December 2, 2017 at 11:17 am

The Lux Estate line uses better quality materials in the mattress. The ones at Costco are just a slight step below the Estate collection, but it's close.

Yufei Wang Says

December 2, 2017 at 1:18 am

What is the key difference between Estate and Lux Estate lines? Prices are quite different. Also, Cisco also carries a Stearns and Foster mattress at a much lower price. Is the quality comparable to the ones sold at Sears and Macy's?

MattressNerd Says

November 26, 2017 at 8:25 am

This year's Stearns models are better than last year's, in my opinion. And they do have some of the hardest mattresses around in their extra-firm models. (Many other places will have some padding on their extra firm models. Stearns has always been willing to go even further).

Trish Says

November 25, 2017 at 10:39 pm

Hi! My husband and I bought a Sealy Posturpedic mattress a few years ago and it's not working for my husband who is a 260 lb. bodybuilder who suffers from severe back pain. He does not care for memory foam mattresses. He gets too hot and he wants a very firm mattress . We were leaning towards a Sterns and Foster Estate Bridle 1 but after reading some of the comments I am having second thoughts. Any suggestions? We are desperate.

MattressNerd Says

November 22, 2017 at 6:38 am

You can't really find good deals on Stearns because it's a "MAP" product, meaning there's a Minimum Advertised Price it can be sold at. The Sealy Premium models on my Sealy comparison chart will be a similar quality.

Beth Says

November 21, 2017 at 11:34 pm

Hi, now I tried the Middleton at sears , & it is my favorite of all of them . The issue is the price. Sears/Macys will now go down from almost a 2,000 point. Any suggestions to a compreble sealy ? Thanks

MattressNerd Says

November 21, 2017 at 8:57 am

One thing to keep in mind is you can always make a mattress softer by adding a topper. There is no practical way to make a mattress firmer if it's too soft. So I'd recommend the firmer of the two.

Beth Says

November 20, 2017 at 10:39 pm

I have narrowed down to the stearns Foster luxury firm tight top/ Hustonville& macysGarrick luxury firm to the luxury firm palace at macys. The palace had more Cush, the other is firmer. I'm afraid the palace will get saggy and the tight top will be too firm . I can't decide . Can you help ? I'm a very heavy woman. But don't want to wake up W vscksche, or too soft of a bed . Thanks

MattressNerd Says

November 13, 2017 at 9:10 am

The Hope Bay is a slight step down from the Estate collection. It's not a big difference, but the nicer layer of memory foam is a little thinner from what I can tell.

Becca Says

November 12, 2017 at 9:58 pm

how does stearns and foster palace luxury firm mattress compare to kirkland signature by stearns and foster hope bay?

Mary Says

November 4, 2017 at 9:53 am

Stearns and Foster is the best mattress I have ever owned. THEIR California King Lasted years and years and never lost its shape. There really is no comparison.

MattressNerd Says

October 31, 2017 at 8:59 am

I wouldn't go as far as you do. A few years ago, the S&F weren't really that good compared to the price they were selling for. This year's models seem to be nicer and focus on actual quality materials rather than materials that just "sound luxurious." It's more sensible to pay $3,000 for high grade memory foam and latex, and not for "Mongolian Horse Hair" for example.

MattressNerd Says

October 31, 2017 at 8:57 am

It's a slight step below the Estate Collection, but it's still okay.

Mieke Johannsen Says

October 27, 2017 at 2:51 pm

It's a shame that so few of the commenters below cannot take responsibility for their own choices. What with hiding being a moniker online and FLAMING about how bad Stearns & Foster is or how we should all stay away from this brand because they had one bad experience. FACT: Stearns and Foster has been in business under the same name for the past 170+ years. Whereas any manufacturer has created a full model lineup from the c.$1,500 Estate up to the c.$3,900 Reserve models, you'll buy the cheapest one (because you're cheap but want to brag that you have a S&F) like it somewhat, and several years later buy a higher cost Estate or even the Lux Estate and then eventually you'll buy the Reserve. If you are on the fence about a S&F, it is the Reserve line of beds that has kept them in business for the past 170 years. Buy the reserve. If you're unhappy with that, try the Posh+Lavish. If you're still unhappy, stop reading the blogs and buy one because you really like it.

Peggy Clough Says

October 27, 2017 at 6:11 am

What do you think of the Sterns and Foster mattress that Costco (Kirkland) is selling? Is that a good mattress?

Leon Smith Says

October 11, 2017 at 4:17 pm

What about the Beautyrest Vivianne Plush in comparison to S&F Salzburg lux Plush Pillowtop? Shopping now for a new mattress in their range.

Julie Says

October 3, 2017 at 10:24 pm

Hello - I am considering the Stearns & Foster Hustonville Luxury Firm Tight Top. I sleep on my side as well as my back. This mattress I found comfortable for me but am concerned after reading articles about Stearns & Foster with regards to customer satisfaction and how long it might last. What might I expect? I was also considering the Sealy Rosati Ultra Firm with maybe a topper of perhaps an inch or a little more to give me a tad bit cushion. Pillow tops are out. What are your thoughts? I have been looking at Sears. Thank you

ljoys Says

September 29, 2017 at 5:01 am

english meadows or blisswood plush firm THESE ARE WAY TOO FIRM!! It appears you will be fooled by the fancy name..These cause pain! Otherwise healthy very active athletic adult sleeping on this has been a nightmare as it just seems way too hard - can NOT sleep on side at all or back slept on a serta at a Hilton and slept through night! I am going to switch brands now. I will say that the mattress HOLDS UP .most likely because it is a DENSE PACKED hard potato eve nthough it says LUXURY PLUSH FIRM ... Give me a break.

Jayne Murdock Says

September 27, 2017 at 3:17 pm

Hello - I'm looking to purchase the Stearns and Foster "Misty Forest" mattress, any recommendations or reviews? I previously bought the Kingsdown Ventura mattress and within weeks there was noticeable body impressions so still under our warranty we're making an exchange. Just worried we could exchange to a new mattress and have the same situation. (I weight 120 lbs and my husband 180lbs). Thank you!

Mark Says

September 26, 2017 at 2:22 pm

Just curious... the Stearns and Foster Garrick 14.5 Eurotop luxury firm I just looked at in Macys said the cover was made out of the silk-infused cover. I didn't see Tencel mentioned anywhere. Does that mean these are still the 2016's? Thanks.

Linds Says

September 24, 2017 at 7:01 pm

We are getting ready to purchase S&F Scarborough or Estate Bella Claire luxury plush Euro top. Is this one of the newer 2017 models. I too am concerned with all bad reviews I am reading. Pls advise. Thanks

MattressNerd Says

September 22, 2017 at 10:59 pm

Unfortunately, I have no way of knowing what type of mattress would be best for you. You seem to have tried quite a wide range of mattress types, and none have worked for you. Have you ever tried a latex mattress? That might be a possibility. They won't get as hot as memory foam and you won't sink as far into it, just don't get one that's too firm.

mike fisher Says

September 22, 2017 at 1:01 pm

Hi, We are on our third mattress in 5 months. 1st mattress was a tempurpedic hybrid which was super firm! 2nd was a tempurpedic cloud which was nice until 4 hours into sleep and it was hot and lost all support. Now we have a Stearns and foster Scarborough. I'm 225, my wife is 110. We are both 30 years old. She is comfortable but we are about 60 days in and now I'm starting to have pressure point pain in hips and shoulders waking up constantly with my hands and arms falling asleep. We are wondering if we should return it as well and go to somewhere like denver mattress or get an online only mattress which scares us trying something untested. We just are getting discouraged. Thank you for your help.

MattressNerd Says

September 19, 2017 at 2:54 pm

I don't know that there is one particular "best" one. If there was, that would really simplify things. Airelooms and Visprings would be major contenders for that title, I'm sure.

MattressNerd Says

September 19, 2017 at 2:53 pm

I've heard some things, but I don't know how prevalent the issue is. They are big air chambers, so I'd imagine if you live in a humid environment it might be an issue.

Lisa Says

September 18, 2017 at 12:25 pm

Also, in your opinion what is the best innerspring mattress?

Lisa Says

September 18, 2017 at 12:24 pm

Thank you and or warranty would kick in. Have you heard about the sleep number and mold? We were sold on the sleep number until I saw that.

MattressNerd Says

September 18, 2017 at 11:34 am

The current model year of Stearns and Foster seems to be a little better of a value than in previous years, and the customer reviews have gotten a little better since then. But, it's impossible to say for sure how it will hold up in, say, 7 years. All I know that from the specs, it should be a reasonably good mattress.

Lisa Says

September 18, 2017 at 11:28 am

I am looking to buy either the Sterns and Foster Garrick Plush PillowTop or a Sleep Number p4. I am reading bad reviews about both. Can you give me some info on the Garrick? We keep going back to this one it is very comfortable in the store. The Sleep Number bad reviews says it gets mold. Please help need to make a decision. My old mattress is getting picked up soon.

MattressNerd Says

September 18, 2017 at 10:20 am

Three nights isn't really enough to break in the mattress. I'd definitely give it about 2 or 3 weeks before making that decision.

Katrina Says

September 15, 2017 at 10:57 pm

We just bought the Stearns & Foster Reserve #3 and it feels way too firm. We have only had it for 3 nights so far. Does it get softer with some time and if so about how long? We have a 120 day guarantee, so I can exchange it. But the Reserve #1 seemed like we "sank" in too much i the store.

Tina Says

September 6, 2017 at 10:41 pm

I saw a Stearns and Foster Estate Luxury Plush Mattress called Scarborough II at Darvin Furniture and Tom's Price in the Chicagoland area. Could you tell me what mattress I can compare it to on the chart?

Carolyn Cerda Says

August 31, 2017 at 9:56 am

Hi, we are both obese seniors and need to replace our 20 year old Stearns and Foster Firm low end mattress. We were thinking about the Stearns and Foster estate ( no pillow topper ) Firm mattress. Sears, Macy's and Art Van mattress store are near us. Do you have any idea of the Art Van names for the estate Starns and Foster series. Ps. This is a great site. Thank you for your time spent on the research and sharing it. With Gratitude, Rick and Carol Cerda

MattressNerd Says

August 28, 2017 at 9:34 am

A step down in the S&F lineup would be comparable in comfort and less expensive. They're already high end mattresses, and you don't gain too much by going all the way up to that level. Adjustable bases are generally very expensive, so if you can get one of those for free, it's a great deal.

Amanda Says

August 26, 2017 at 6:18 pm

I went shopping for a mattress today and my favorite was the S&F Reserve 3. Is there a mattress comparable in comfort that might be a bit less expensive? Also, for the Labor Day sales, a few stores are offering free adjustable bed bases or discounts on adjustable bases. What is your opinion on them?

Coreen Says

August 22, 2017 at 5:35 pm

I purchased the S&F Pineville Luxury Firm Euro Pillowtop from Sears and it is too firm for me but my husband likes it. Do you think the Owentown Luxury Plush will be too soft? I know it's a hard question to answer online, but I'm concerned more about the comparison between the two and can't find any info about it online. Thank you!

MattressNerd Says

August 20, 2017 at 7:44 pm

Unfortunately I am not familiar with the Kexby. The model looks to be over 10 years old, and there is nothing on the market that will be the same. You could try one of the online direct-to-consumer models. The Saatva (review here: https://www.mattressnerd.com/saatva-review/) reminds me a lot of old Stearns and Foster mattresses, and they have a free return policy, so it might be worth a try, and if you don't like it, return it and try one of the other ones.

Belinda Wade Says

August 19, 2017 at 5:14 pm

Help! My husband and I moved into a new home with a bedroom big enough for a king size bed. We have bought the frame and just now need a king mattress and box springs. We have been sleeping on the S&F Kexby which is no longer made. We have looked at the S&F Baywood and The Reserve II at Sprintz Furniture in Franklin, TN. Our salesperson has not been so forthcoming when we ask about comparisons to Kexby. We are senior citizens who are both heavy so need good support but like it to feel soft, but not so soft we can't turn over.. I have been researching and can't compare because of all the different names. I also heard about another brand that is made for heavy people. What do you suggest?

MattressNerd Says

August 9, 2017 at 8:23 pm

That's the same as the Addison Grace Plush Euro Pillowtop and the ones in that row.

Jean Parisi Says

August 9, 2017 at 7:26 am

Stearns and Foster® Ella Grace Luxury Plush EPT - Mattress + Box Spring for $1940.00 with 30% off, is that good, the reviews are great. HELP, want to order today, thanks so much

Eric Says

August 6, 2017 at 8:38 am

Just baught a stearns and foster la fiorentini iv...should I be worried?

Mary Ann Says

August 3, 2017 at 9:38 pm

Price and what kind is it Villa Naples at Boscov's

MattressNerd Says

August 3, 2017 at 9:36 pm

That one is a new model. It came out near the end of 2016.

Susan Nottingham Says

August 3, 2017 at 8:39 pm

Looking at buying S&F Sonya rose. Have ready a lot of bad reviews about beds sagging Do you know if this is a new model or falls under 2014-2016? Love the way it felt in store

Gail Says

August 3, 2017 at 8:59 am

Trying to compare Sterns and Foster mattresses at Raymour and Flanigan and Mattress Firm Mattress Firm model is Candidate 11 Lux Firm and Bridle Plush Raymour and Flanigan is Estate LaFiorenti 11

MattressNerd Says

July 16, 2017 at 11:00 am

Oh, that's an interesting one. Where did you see it? A google search turns up Mattress Discounters, which is now owned by Mattress Firm. But the company that sells Stearns, TempurSealy, had a falling-out with Mattress Firm, and they are now suing one another. So, I was surprised to see Stearns still listed on the Mattress Discounters site. They had an exclusive lineup, so it won't be an exact match, but the closest comparison will be the Kenna Rose and ones in that row on the comparison chart. The Kenna Rose will have 1" less of one type of foam and about 0.5" more of a different type. Other than that, they're the same.

Jilene Says

July 15, 2017 at 10:57 pm

Could you provide a comparison for the Echo Grove by Stearns and foster? Thank you

MattressNerd Says

July 15, 2017 at 10:46 pm

In the article, I mention that this year the designs look stronger than they used to. Read the section under the heading Stearns & Foster Review. The higher-end Sealys will be a similar quality to the lower-end Stearns & Fosters. If you like the S&F the best, that's likely going to be a fine choice for you.

Jonathan Says

July 15, 2017 at 7:45 pm

My wife and I just visited a Sleep Outfitters where we narrowed our options down to a Sealy Performance Response People's Choice Plush Pillowtop for $1399 (king set), a Sealy Premium Response Academy Award Plush Pillowtop for $1899, and then the sales associate showed us a S&F Estate La Emilia V Plush Euro PT marked $2699 but he could bring it down to $1900. We couldn't feel much difference between the two Sealy's, but we liked the S&F. The associate did say that S&F had bad reviews from 2014-2106, but they changed the design for 2017 and it's much better. I'm driving myself crazy trying to look up accurate reviews and research for these three options until I found your website. Any advice & expertise would bring some much needed clarity to this confusing purchasing decision. My questions are mainly 1. How does the quality compare on these three options (or are there other similar models I should be looking at?)?, and 2. Is it true about S&F making quality upgrades in their designs? Thank you in advance!

MattressNerd Says

July 14, 2017 at 6:53 am

The Kirkland Signature collection (Exclusive to Costco) is a slight step below the Estate Collection.

Susan Says

July 13, 2017 at 6:12 pm

Is Costco S&F Hope Bay compariablebto what other name in other store

Bruce McBride Says

July 4, 2017 at 9:19 am

What do you know about the Costco "Hope Bay mattress "?

MattressNerd Says

July 3, 2017 at 12:42 pm

The salesman is lying to you. It's the exact same mattress as the Hutsonville or Garrick.

MattressNerd Says

July 3, 2017 at 12:30 pm

The Beautyrest Black is going to be a little bit of a step up from the Beautyrest Platinum. They use different coils and different foams. The Balerno is an old model S&F. It is not a better quality than the Beautyrest Black line. It's more in line with the Beautyrest Platinum.

Mike Says

July 2, 2017 at 11:49 pm

Hello, I stopped by a furniture store that was selling the Beautyrest Platinum Brittany Luxury extra Firm($1399) and the Black Desiree Luxury Firm ($1999). Do you know the quality and the difference between them? Also, I went to a warehouse where this guy is a wholesaler and he has the Stearns and Foster Signature Balerno Luxury firm Euro Pillowtop (asking for $1025). Does the S&F is a better quality then the Beautyrest Black line and does the S&F model is the current model or older model? Please help provide me your expertise on these mattresses. Thank you

Leo W Says

July 2, 2017 at 3:30 pm

I'm looking at the Oak Terrace II Stearns & Foster estate collection mattress at All American mattress in Md. It's non pillow top, it's priced around the same as the Hutsonville at Sears and the Garrick at Macy's. Would you know if it's comparable to those? The salesman is saying that the Oak Terrace has more coils but really, how does one know for sure? The height is the same and most of the other specifications match up.

MattressNerd Says

June 17, 2017 at 6:01 am

The Kirkland Signature line is a step below anything on the chart. Only Costco sells it, so you can't compare it elsewhere, but it uses different foams in the top layer compared to the Estate collection.

Susanne Says

June 16, 2017 at 5:35 pm

I want to buy another mattress just like my old stearns and foster dovenby double pillow top can you let me know what it's compared to now, thank you

Debra Millman Says

June 16, 2017 at 10:37 am

Thank you for your review. Costco is selling the Kirkland Signature™ by Stearns & Foster® Hope Bay | Pillowtop Cushion Firm. There are no reviews listed on the Costco website. Do you know which mattresses this compares to on your comparison chart. And, do you have any knowledge as to it's quality?

Tracy Says

June 14, 2017 at 5:24 pm

Penshaw s&f vs hope bay -sold at Cisco do you know what the firmness difference is

MattressNerd Says

June 5, 2017 at 6:10 pm

If you just bought it, it hasn't broken in yet. The foams will always be stiffer when you first get it, until the "cells" in the foam break open. Give it a week or two.

Lyn Trollip Says

June 5, 2017 at 11:03 am

I have just bought a Stearns and Foster River Place GS LXP mattress and find it a bit hard. Is this a common complaint. I have it on trial and wonder if I should return it and what should I replace it with that wont sag.

Ken Says

March 20, 2017 at 11:55 am

How is the loom leaf mattress by saatva for side sleepers, I heard good reviews for side sleeping.

Ken Says

March 20, 2017 at 11:53 am

How is it for side sleeping? I heard it has good reviews.

MattressNerd Says

February 26, 2017 at 11:52 pm

Thanks for the comment. I recommend them as an alternative to Tempurpedic on this page: Tempurpedic Alternatives

Robert Says

February 25, 2017 at 4:10 pm

Cancelled my order and my wife and I are now sleeping happily on a loom leaf mattress by saatva. Amazingly similar to the tempur we tried and almost half the cost.

rob Says

February 21, 2017 at 3:19 pm

I just purchased a Sterns & Fosters Lux King 518760K. My wife and I were wowed by the Tempur-pedic, but it was out of my price range. The salesman took me us to see the SF and it was similar enough and 25% less so we decided to go with it. After reading the reviews posted here and on other sites, I will be cancelling my order. As a matter of fact, I'm on hold with the cancellations department right now!!

jim Says

February 21, 2017 at 3:11 pm

We just got the elite cortona highbird for 45 days but was able to exchange it since it was only 45 days it was just 2 hard we got the softer version now it's elite graniao luxury highbird they was selling for 2,500 but I got the 1st one for 1,400 then when I exchange I only had to pay another 125 plus tax so I'm happy if anything atleast I didn't let them jewelry me in paying full or almost full retail cause I keeped going in and letting them know if they would give me a good enough deal I would not only buy 1 and the lifting base but I have cash plus it was at the end of the year and they really needed to make there quota for the year so li,e I said wasn't to happy on the 1st but I believe that was my bad cause I got it to hard so now I got the softer one we will see how it does

Ken Says

February 21, 2017 at 12:16 am

What mattress is close to a felicity c

Kevin Says

February 19, 2017 at 9:26 pm

My experience differs. bought Stearns and Foster Thornham Cal King. 3 years now. Best mattress I have ever owned. no sinking at all.

Robert Says

January 12, 2017 at 3:10 am

Do not buy unless you hate your bed mate. Had 2 matresses sterns and Foster in 2 years. Both stink. One I have now is next to top of the line. It is horrible. Each side develops pits where you sleep. Turning over is hard. King bed develop a hump in the middle that is hard. Had adults jump on middle to break the jump with no luck. I have bad back wife had bad neck. Bed has made our problems worse. Don't buy it garbage

Kitkat Says

January 8, 2017 at 10:41 am

Thanks for sharing your bad experienced on S&F. I was looking to purchase the S&F mattres set for my elderly mother but after reading your review I better stay away from this brand.

Lauretta Baugh Says

January 6, 2017 at 1:32 am

I agree completely. This is the worst mattress that I have ever slept on. I can feel every spring. It is lumpy and inconsistent. I have bruises on my hip from turning over at night. I tried to return it shortly after I purchased it, but the man that came refused to sit or lay on the bed, but only measured it and said it was in perfect shape. It was expensive and I have not finished paying for it. I cannot at this time buy another because I am a senior citizen on a fixed income. The mattress is thick, heavy and difficult to make up. I will get rid of it as soon as I am able.

MattressNerd Says

December 30, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Just letting you know I redacted part of your comment. I can't have people called out by name in my comments section.

William Says

December 30, 2016 at 10:35 am

Purchased a S&F Luxury Estate mattress 4 years ago and it has been the worst mattress I've ever owned. Do not buy this brand. Company says it must have a 1 1/2" dip, but the padding rebounds to 1"; therefore, the manufacturer will no allow for replacement. I regret ever making this purchase. Each night is a horrible sleeping experience. I wake up in a crater daily with back and neck pain. I bought this mattress because it was supposed to be the best, but it has been a very large and expensive disappointment. If you call the manufacturer, you will get absolutely no help, but you will be treated rudely by both the customer service specialist and management [redacted personal information]. Stay away from this mattress, you will almost immediately regret your decision, I know I did. I also noticed that I am not alone in this unfortunate situation, I've recently read review after review of people having the exact same problem as I do. It is quite clear that this was a poor purchase and I recommend that you stay away from any product associated with Stearns and Foster.

Johnny Criswell Says

December 31, 2015 at 2:37 pm

I like a Sealy Culworth firm. What other Sealy is compatible to it.

Sign up for The Mattress Nerd® newsletter: