Nest Bedding Alexander Review

Disclosure: This site receives a payment from Nest Bedding when you purchase a product using any links to that company in this article (or use my coupon code)

There have been a lot of new mattress companies popping up recently. On this site, I only review the ones that I think have a good chance at sticking around long-term, and I think Nest Bedding is going to be one such company. I turn down the opportunity to review more mattresses than I accept, but after doing a bit of research I decided to review Nest products.

The Alexander Signature is their luxury lineup of four mattresses (soft, medium, and firm memory foam mattresses, plus a hybrid innerspring mattress) and is the focus of this review. They also have a more entry-level mattress called the Love Bed which I review here.

alexander signature

The Alexander as seen in the San Francisco showroom. Notice the quilted top instead of the flat top that many foam mattresses have.

In this review, I will look at how each mattress feels, what they’re constructed of, the customer service polices (like return and warranty) and my overall thoughts on the mattress.

[toc]

Construction

The first three Alexander mattresses are 13″ memory foam mattresses. The mattress comes compressed in a box and expands quickly after opening. The other mattress in the lineup is a “hybrid mattress” which has a similar top layer to the foam mattress but uses a coil system instead of a base foam underneath.

This part gets kind of technical, so feel free to skip ahead if you don’t really care about foam densities and the like. 

The Alexander comes in three firmnesses (firm, medium, and soft), and each one is constructed a little differently. They are made of a combination of 4 pound density memory foam (the average is somewhere from 3-4 among most companies), a 1.8 pound density high resiliency support foam, and a breathable foam layer in between the two.

Then, the top layer of all three uses a quilted cover, which is something that not every foam mattress uses. The quilt is 1.5-2 inches thick depending on the firmness.

Putting the technical details aside, the takeaway here is that this is a solidly-built mattress. The foams are overall denser and stronger than a lot of the competition, and these mattresses should last a good 8-10 years before they start wearing down.

How it feels

The important thing is “how does the mattress feel?” I didn’t have the chance to sleep on all of these mattresses, but I spent 8 hours in the Nest Bedding showroom in San Francisco lying down on these and the Love Beds, so I got a very good opportunity to really feel the mattresses. I will explain how each one feels and who each might be best for.

Alexander Firm

The Alexander Firm is an ultra-firm mattress. It’s not the hardest one I’ve ever tried, but on a scale from 1 to 10 where 1 is the hardest, I’d give this one a 2. It feels very hard at first, but contours a little to your body over time. The Firm version will be good for:

  • Heavier people, especially those who sleep on their back or stomach. If you’re a heavier side sleeper, I’d recommend this with a mattress topper to go along with it. Otherwise, you’ll have too much pressure on your joints. (In this context, “heavier” means a BMI somewhere north of 35-40+. If you’re just a bit overweight, I’d consider you an average American for the purpose of this review).
  • Most people who sleep on their stomach. Stomach sleepers tend to need firmer mattresses in general.
  • Anybody that doesn’t have many curves to their body. The mattress just won’t contour to your curves very well, so if you’re a side sleeper with broad shoulders or wide hips, this mattress will hurt you. On the other hand, if you’re a back sleeper, and the curve in your lumbar section is not very pronounced, you should be fine.
  • People used to extra firm mattresses. This is common in Asian and European cultures. If you’re used to sleeping on a Japanese futon, you’re likely going to love this mattress.

If you’ve ever tried the Tempurpedic Contour Supreme, this mattress feels somewhat similar.

Alexander Medium

Not surprisingly, the Alexander Medium is a medium mattress. It’s a bit softer than a lot of their direct-to-consumer competitors. It’s roughly a 4.5 out of 10 on that mattress firmness scale I mentioned. This one was my favorite in the store (and the CEO told me that most of his customers agree with me; this is their favorite too). I’m a side sleeper, so I spent over a half hour lying on one side without moving, and at no point did I feel any pressure in my shoulder. The Medium is best for:

  • People of about average weight. If you’re very heavy or very light, I’d recommend the firm or the soft version respectively. I’m about 60 pounds overweight, and this one was just the tiniest bit too soft for my tastes. If I were to lose ~15 pounds, it would probably be perfect.
  • Side sleepers and back sleepers. Stomach sleepers tend to need something firmer (unless you’re a particularly thin stomach sleeper)
  • People that like soft mattresses but don’t want something you’ll sink into too far. This is similar to what a lot of places would consider “plush,” but it’s kind of on the firmer end of “plush.”

Compared to the well-known Tempurpedic brand, this one is somewhere in between the Rhapsody Luxe and Cloud Supreme in firmness.

Alexander Soft

I didn’t spend as much time on the Alexander Soft, because it was just too soft for my body type. When I was on my side on this mattress, my shoulder went all the way into it, and I barely needed a pillow. On a scale from 1 to 10 with 1 the firmest, this one was about a 7. I have trouble feeling the gradations between different soft mattresses (again, because of my body type), but I can say that this is one of the softer mattresses I’ve ever laid on. The Alexander Soft is best for:

  • Side or back sleepers of a slim or athletic build. If you sleep on your side and have bony hips and shoulders, you’ll need something that won’t cause pressure, and since you’re so light, you don’t need anything extra firm to keep you in proper alignment.
  • People that are used to extra soft mattresses. If you’ve slept very well on extra soft mattresses before, you’ll probably be fine on this one.

Once again comparing it to the more well-known Tempurpedic brand, this is similar in feel to the Cloud Luxe.

Alexander Hybrid

The Alexander hybrid is in between the firmness of the Soft and Medium. It’s a little bouncier because it uses coils under the foam instead of the high resiliency foam. On a scale from 1 to 10 where 10 is the firmest, this one is about a 6, which is good if you want something just a little softer than average. As a hybrid, it is bouncier than the all-foam models. The Hybrid is best for:

  • People who don’t like memory foam mattresses as much (i.e. you’re afraid of getting “stuck” in one spot on the mattress)
  • Side sleepers who don’t want their mattress to be too soft

Return policy

The Alexander has a 101 night return policy, so this is a low risk purchase. This is the main reason I can recommend buying this mattress without trying it in a store first. If it doesn’t work out for you, Nest makes it easy to return or exchange the mattress. There is no fee for the return, and they do NOT make you do the work to return it. They will find a local charity for you and donate the mattress.

Warranty

The Alexander has a 20 year warranty which covers the mattress sagging more than an inch or any seams coming out. The “industry standard” for warranties is 10 years, so this warranty reflects the fact that the Alexander is built to last. However, keep in mind that the warranty doesn’t necessarily reflect how long a mattress will be comfortable. The mattress will become less comfortable long before it physically starts falling apart, so you should expect to get maybe 10 years of good use out of this mattress.

Price

The Alexander mattresses are a little higher priced than the average of the direct-to-consumer mattresses, but they are also some of the highest quality of the group. Like many things in life, you get what you pay for. The Alexander retails for $1199 in a queen, but you can get a $100 coupon by entering the code NERD100 at checkout, which brings the price down to $1099.

Since the mattress is fairly priced for the start, you won’t find any big sales on the mattress, so that $100 off coupon is the best you’re going to find.

The Alexander does not come with a boxspring, so you’ll either need to use a platform bed (and Nest sells a few on their website), use an existing rigid foundation, or put it on an adjustable base (which is my favorite option, but it’s a lot more expensive. Oh, and Nest sells a few of the high end adjustable bases on their site too).

No chemical odor

This is something I didn’t experience first-hand since I tried these in a store rather than having them send me 6 different mattresses to my small apartment, but the CEO of Nest Bedding, Joe Alexander, was adamant that there is no chemical smell when unrolling the mattress. That seems like an unreasonably strong claim for a CEO to make about his product, but he doubled-down on it when I said I’d put that in the review.

I’ll backpedal for him and say there might be some residual odor from the actual plastic bag that the mattress comes in, but the mattress itself shouldn’t have any scent associated with it.

The Alexander is made in the USA and is both CertiPUR-US certified and Oeko-Tex certified, which means it’s gone through a lot of testing for things like VOCs. It’s not an “organic” mattress, but they do put their foams through some strict testing.

Concluding thoughts

A lot of mattresses coming out recently have been variations on the same theme, that is to say they’re all 10 inch medium-firm foam mattresses. Nest Bedding breaks this mold with their Alexander bed. It’s 13 inches of foam rather than 10, and you have a choice of comfort rather than just giving you one mattress. Though like most things in life, you get what you pay for. It is very fairly priced; at $1099 in a queen (after using NERD100 at checkout) it’s a great value, but it is more expensive than a lot of the other direct-to-consumer options out there. If you just don’t have the money, consider getting their Love Bed instead.

If you have the room in your budget for this mattress, you’re unlikely to be disappointed. This is a luxury mattress at a fair price delivered right to your door without the hassle of dealing with salesman. And with the generous return policy, you don’t have much to lose.

Click here to purchase the Alexander, and don’t forget to enter the coupon code NERD100 for $100 off

Disclosure: This site receives a payment from Nest Bedding when you purchase a product using any links to that company in this article (or use my coupon code)

Related articles

Should you buy a mattress online or in store?

Tempurpedic alternatives

Adjustable bases

Do you need a boxspring?

Mattress reviews

Additional resources

 

Questions & Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

MattressNerd Says

June 18, 2017 at 11:10 pm

They're both solid mattresses and I'm an affiliate for both companies. It's tough to know which one is better for you. When I tried them, the L&L Relaxed Firm felt a little stiffer than the Alexander Medium, but other than that, I don't think you'd be making a mistake either way you went. One thing to keep in mind though is the Nest does the more common thing with direct-to-consumer foam mattresses and ships it in a box. For the Loom and Leaf, you're paying for delivery, which isn't refundable if you return it. On the other hand, they set it up for you. So, there's a tradeoff that way. Besides that and the firmness difference, they're pretty similar and it is not at all a clear choice one way or another. It's like Coke vs Pepsi in my opinion.

Mike Says

June 18, 2017 at 4:09 pm

Dear Mattress Nerd, Having a hard time deciding between the Nest Alexander Medium and Loom and Leaf Relaxed Firm. Researching, the L&L seems to get slightly higher grades but it appears it may have slightly less dense foam in the bottom layers. So my concern is it may wear faster and the Nest may be a better value long term. Any thoughts? Love the site and insight you provide. Thanks, Mike

MattressNerd Says

June 17, 2017 at 6:00 am

The L&L will be slightly firmer, and they have a delivery charge that isn't refundable, but otherwise they're fairly similar. It's impossible to tell which one you'll like better. I know it doesn't help, but I don't think going either direction would be a bad choice.

Mike Says

June 16, 2017 at 10:07 am

I am struggling between the Nest Alexander Medium and the Loom and Leaf Relaxed Firm -- did you prefer one over the other? Thanks!

MattressNerd Says

January 27, 2017 at 8:43 pm

If you prefer the Cloud Luxe from Tempurpedic, I'd recommend the Soft Alexander.

Colleen Gabrielle Says

January 23, 2017 at 7:00 pm

I am 140 lbs, side sleeper, back and hip pain, and lots of problems with pressure points waking me up at night (especially my hips). I am really interested in trying the Nest Alexander. Is it best to go for the medium since that is supposed to work for the majority of sleepers? I’ve read a few comments that some people find even the medium to firm for side sleeping and it creates pressure points on their hips and shoulders. I tried a Tempur-Pedic Cloud Luxe and a Cloud Supreme. The Luxe is very comfortable but just not sure I could get used to that much overall body sink. It gives quite a hug. The Cloud Supreme was also comfortable although it could have used a touch more sink for my shoulder than I was getting. Any advice?

SG Says

October 21, 2016 at 7:37 pm

Hey Im currently considering buying the Alexander in Medium/ soft or Novosbed Medium/ soft. Im 5'4 140 lbs and a side and back sleeper and my wife 5'1 110lbs side sleeper. We tried the Tempurpedic Cloud supreme breeze and like it. Which matress would you say is closest to to the Tempurpedic? If you have other suggestion am open to it. Also should we go with soft or medium. The only thing I would say I didnt like about the Tempurpedic would be the difficulties in getting out of it. I have a hard time getting up real early at 4am lol.

JackO Says

October 5, 2016 at 8:47 pm

Hi, I have been stuck between the Alexander Signature Series Medium/Soft vs. the Hybrid. I currently have had the Helix (My side is Medium Soft) and is way too hard. I have had now for a little over 30 days as well and it hasn't given at all. I have read in numerous post that the soft is not noticeable from the medium soft so that is out. I have decided on trying out the Nest Alexander series. Do I go Signature Series or Hybrid, and if I go Signature Series do I go Medium or Soft? My wife and I (in our early 30's) are combinations sleepers, she is 5'7" under 130 lbs, and likes her Helix medium side. I am 6'4" 190 lbs and like a softer "cloud, hotel" feel, but with good support (don't need back issues). I tend to sleep hot as well.

MattressNerd Says

September 25, 2016 at 12:48 pm

1) They didn't make you pay a fee, and 2) you didn't have to do the work to return it. Sounds like all you had to do was set it outside. So I don't think my assessment of the situation is a "joke."

Mike O Says

September 23, 2016 at 5:28 pm

" There is no fee for the return, and they do NOT make you do the work to return it. They will find a local charity for you and donate the mattress." I'm sorry, but that is a joke. I had to submit a bunch of photos to show it was in good shape - fair enough. But NY state generally prohibits mattress donations (they make it difficult to comply for health reasons, so no charities outside NYC usually accept them). After some back and forth with Nest I was told to put the mattress on craigslist for free, send them a link to the posting and a picture of the person taking it away, once one did. I declined, of course, for my own safety. Then I was instructed to donate it to a charity (already been through that discussion with them) or dispose of it with proof (a receipt or a photo). I finally contacted my trash hauler, and I have to set the mattress curbside so it can go to the local landfill. It's a good thing I'm strong and healthy enough to do all the lifting.

MattressNerd Says

August 1, 2016 at 6:31 pm

The L&L Relaxed Firm will be firmer than the Alexander Medium. Additionally, if you return the L&L, you don't get the delivery fee back. So it might be worthwhile trying the Alexander first, and if that's too soft, or you sink into it too much, switch it out for the L&L after.

Candace Says

July 31, 2016 at 3:38 pm

Hi -- I"m also comparing the Loom & Leaf Relaxed Firm to the Alexander Medium. I tend to gravitate to softer, but have lower back and hip issues. Want something that is firm enough to provide support w/o me melting into the bed and causing me to angle funny. I understand the Alexander mattresses to be a bit softer in general. I sleep well in hotels and they are usually medium, I figure anyway. Is the Loom & Leaf like sleeping on a board -- I need something balanced and not too firm, not too soft. And while I want memory foam, I don't want to sink into it like you do Temperpedics.

Stephanie Says

July 24, 2016 at 9:07 am

Curious as to why you are getting a different brand? I am considering a Beautyrest Black. What is your experience? I need a zero motion transfer, super cool mattress. Would you recommend the Alexander over the BB?

Robin Says

July 12, 2016 at 6:42 pm

TRC, I'm wondering what you ultimately decided on. I have had the Love Bed (medium) a few weeks and feel it may be a little to firm. I'm thinking the Alexander Hybrid maybe? Currently waiting for the topper to arrive. I'm 5'2, 180lbs and a side sleeper with some intermittent spine issues.

Ann Says

July 5, 2016 at 12:14 pm

Hi Brandon, Curious how the Alexander soft worked out. I'm 5'-3", 110 (side and back sleeper) and I'm debating between the soft or medium with a soft kit. Any feedback? Thanks.

MattressNerd Says

June 2, 2016 at 8:52 pm

They're very different mattresses. The Saatva is a more traditional innerspring mattress. It has a very old-school construction; it reminds me of some of the "Luxury" mattresses from 15 years ago. The Alexander Signature models are foam mattresses more like Tempurpedic. The Hybrid model is similar to a Tempurpedic Flex.

Kevin Sanders Says

June 2, 2016 at 5:05 pm

Curious about your opinion of the Saatva vs the Alexander. Both seem really good for lower back issues. I have a tempurpedic now and I am ready for a change plus it's over 10 years old. Thoughts ?

Brandon Says

May 21, 2016 at 8:21 pm

Thank you for providing all of the reviews, it's been a great resource. I just ordered the Alexander soft. I'm an athlete, 6', 150 lbs and side sleep. My wife is 5'3", 110 lbs. We're both kinda bony :). We've always had spring mattresses and all of the foam we've tried has felt too firm. I feel like we made a good choice based on your recommendations. We're excited to try it. Thanks!

MattressNerd Says

April 28, 2016 at 2:49 pm

That's funny, I didn't do a review about Novosbed.

Jimmy Says

April 28, 2016 at 10:07 am

Thanks for the quick reply. I also read your review about the Novosbed. What are some of the competitive pro and cons of Novosbed vs Alexander?

MattressNerd Says

April 27, 2016 at 12:33 pm

The Alexander Soft would probably be the one closest to what you liked.

Jimmy Says

April 26, 2016 at 8:04 am

Hi. Thanks for the great reviews. We are small sized couple. In the mattress stores we loved tempura cloud supreme breeze and sealy optimum inspiration plush and optimum elation (both with opticool). Of course these store mattresses are overly priced for our budget. Out of the Leesa and Alexander (med, firm, soft) which one do you think would be better or alike the above two. Thanks!!

MattressNerd Says

April 8, 2016 at 10:26 am

I'd recommend either the soft or the hybrid. I haven't tried the Dreamfoam ones, but they seem pretty decent and fairly generic. I don't have any strong opinion one way or the other about Dreamfoam. I don't think they're quite as good as the ones by Nest judging by the specs, but they're also a little lower priced, so it's a wash.

Natalie Smith Says

April 7, 2016 at 6:51 pm

Hi thanks for your reviews! I'm debating between Alexander medium, soft, or hybrid. I do prefer a pretty soft mattress but have never had a foam mattress before. I'm 5'5" and 124lbs. I'm a side sleeping and my lower back kills on a firmer mattress.. I am currently sleeping with my 11 month old son in the bed and hoping the soft won't be too soft for him. Also, have you tried Dreamfoam?

MattressNerd Says

April 4, 2016 at 2:21 pm

If you liked the Contour Elite more than the Rhapsody, get the Firm. If you liked the Rhapsody more, get the Medium. If you couldn't tell the difference either way, you'd probably be happy with either of the Alexanders, though I'd recommend the firm because if it's too firm, you can always add a topper.

Andrew Says

April 3, 2016 at 8:47 pm

Hi - Thanks for your insight. I am 5'10" 185 lbs. and prefer a firmer mattress (stomach and side). My wife, 5'8" 125 lbs. and prefers a little bit softer, (side mostly) but is open to a firmer mattress. I also prefer to sleep cooler than warmer. Lower back pain every morning has me searching fo a new mattress but getting lost in the many options. I've narrowed it to the Alexander. We tried Tempurpedic in the store and liked the Contour Elite and Rhapsody Breeze but certainly didn't like the price tag. Based on these models would you recommend a medium or firm in the Alexander?

MattressNerd Says

February 10, 2016 at 4:42 pm

It's quite likely that the mattresses don't run hot, but rather you run hot. The "heavenly bed" mattress is an old-school innerspring mattress with plenty of air flow. If it's uncomfortable, you should exchange or return it. It's a 100 day policy.

harro Says

February 9, 2016 at 11:00 am

I have the alexander. I guess I always run hot. My old W hotel "heavenly bed" mattress ran hot for me. This one runs hot as well :( Quite uncomfortable, not sure what to do. I'm just past my 90 days.

MattressNerd Says

February 8, 2016 at 3:11 pm

I haven't tried the Alexander Hybrid yet, but I'm heading to New York next week to try it and I'll add it to my review. The Loom and Leaf will be MUCH firmer. It's not even close. I tried the L&L "relaxed firm," and it was about the same firmness as the Alexander Firm. If you want something "medium or soft," stay far away from the Loom and Leaf.

Oscar Says

February 7, 2016 at 4:52 pm

Hi there I'm trying to decide between the Alexander hybrid and the Alexander medium or soft and the loom and leaf I like that the loom and leaf has cooling gel. I'm a side sleeper 5'9 175 my wife is 5'7 135 side and back sleeper she has shoulder and hip pain thanks

MattressNerd Says

January 3, 2016 at 9:38 am

Haven't tried it yet, but according to their website it's a little softer than the Medium.

Cindy Jacobs Says

January 2, 2016 at 11:20 pm

Hi, I am wondering what you think about the Alexander Hybrid. From everything I've heard the Alexander medium would be a good choice for me and my husband. However, I read in another review on another website that the sides are not very structured and this person felt as if she were slipping off the side. There aren't any reviews on the Nest website yet so I'm wondering what, if anything you've heard about the hybrid. Thanks so much. -Cindy

MattressNerd Says

December 31, 2015 at 10:20 am

If it's just a little too firm, the Alexander Medium would work, but so would a ~2" topper. You can price out each and see which makes the most sense for you. If the Leesa is way too firm, then the Alexander Soft would be good. As for the motion, that makes sense. The Alexander only uses memory foam in the comfort layers, which is better at separating motion than latex (which Leesa uses... well, a synthetic latex anyway, not natural latex).

Melissa Says

December 31, 2015 at 7:51 am

Hello! We got the Leesa a few weeks ago, and I still feel it is too firm for me. However, my husband likes it. We are both pretty small people. I'm wondering if we should try the Alexander Medium, the Soft, or possibly get a mattress topper for the Leesa to see if that makes it more comfortable for me. I am a light sleeper, and also notice more motion transfer on the Leesa than I would like. I've seen a few reviews saying the Alexander has less motion transfer than the Leesa - do you agree? Thank you so much for your help!

MattressNerd Says

December 23, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Foam mattresses in general will sink wherever there is weight applied to it, for the most part. The firm version of the Love Bed or Alexander won't sink as much anywhere (middle or otherwise), but it might end up being too firm because of that.

Shan Says

December 23, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Thanks for all your awesome reviews. Never thought there was so much to mattress selection despite struggling with sciatica and lower back pain for years! Wifey and I have tried over 5 mattresses over the years (mostly memory foam) but they've all gotten hot or sunk in the middle. Just got leesa during thanksgiving sale and while we love the firmness and feel, the middle portion sinks. I am 6' 3" 220 stomach sleeper and wife is 5' 4" 175 side/stomach sleeper. Do Alexander or Love beds' firm or medium options sink in the middle? If not, thoughts on which option would best suit us? Thanks again!

MattressNerd Says

December 2, 2015 at 8:43 am

The Alexander Medium is a little softer than the Leesa, that's correct.

Megan Says

December 2, 2015 at 12:56 am

Hi! I read both the Leesa and Nest Alexander reviews and have a couple questions. We are currently sleeping on the leesa. At first I liked it, and now I keep thinking it's just too firm. I do sleep great on it (on my side). I can't sleep on my back on it because it feels to firm on the upper portion of my back. I can't sleep on my stomach (which is my #1) because my legs don't touch the mattress. ((like my lower legs don't sink into the mattress, they kind of stick into the air - if that makes sense)). So someone said I should look into the Alexander. I see on your firmness scale you rate the Leesa at a 3 and the Alexander at a 5. Is that accurate? Do you feel like the Alexander is less firm? Body type is a chubby 180 :) Thanks for your input!!

MattressNerd Says

November 19, 2015 at 2:13 pm

As long as the slats are close enough together, and the plywood is thick enough to hold it, you should be fine. Leesa and the Alexander are my two favorites in this area. I generally like the Leesa a little better for myself, because it's the right firmness, but Leesa only comes in that one firmness, while you have 3 choices with the Alexander. So if you know you like something a little on the softer side, or extra firm, the Alexander is better. If you like something that's kinda firm, but still gives a bit, the Leesa is better. Either way, they're great mattresses for the price.

Redd Says

November 18, 2015 at 2:06 pm

I know this sounds horrible but I sleep on a bit of a vintage bedframe and have a traditional spring mattress. However, I tossed out the boxspring and have my mattress on top of large slats of plywood. (Ha!) I assume the Leesa or Alexander would fair just as well on the plywood slats? I don't want to buy any extra jazz after buying a new mattress. If I sound like a poor college student... I just may be.. Also do you have a Leesa vs. Alexander opinion? I'm just tired of my back hurting!

MattressNerd Says

November 16, 2015 at 10:26 pm

Either is good. Leesa and the Alexander are my two favorites in the "direct to consumer" area. Leesa is a little cheaper and slightly firmer, while the Alexander Medium is a little softer and more expensive. So if you've generally favored softer beds, go with the Alexander. If you've favored them slightly on the firmer side, go with the Leesa. Either way, you're likely to be happy.

Tom H Says

November 16, 2015 at 8:16 am

Hi, I am 6 foot 230lbs and I am a side sleeper, back sleeper and stomach sometimes sleeper. What do you recommend for a bed for me and I was looking at the Leesa or the Alexander mattresses. Kindly Tom H

MattressNerd Says

October 26, 2015 at 12:19 am

The Alexander is slightly softer than the Love Bed. Just because your old memory foam mattress didn't give you proper support doesn't mean every memory foam mattress will also not give you proper support.

TRC Says

October 25, 2015 at 8:56 pm

I purchased the Love Bed medium and it is almost, but not quite, perfect. I sleep on my side and still have some pressure at my hips and sometimes shoulders - even though they kindly sent me a topper to put on it. I am considering switching to the Alexander medium. I have used memory foam before and it was fine for a while but then my back would ache from what I took to be lack of support. Any thoughts on this? I am average size - about 5'5" and height/weight proportional. Thank you

MattressNerd Says

October 25, 2015 at 12:10 am

The Alexander works fine on adjustable bases as far as I know. It should not void the warranty, but that would be something to ask them to be sure.

MattressNerd Says

October 25, 2015 at 12:09 am

It uses a quilted layer so you're not directly on the foam and it uses a layer of convoluted foam for air circulation in the mattress. If you sleep hot now, you will continue to sleep hot on the Alexander. There is no such thing as a mattress that cools you off. If you don't sleep hot on innersprings, you're unlikely to sleep hot on the Alexander.

tc Says

October 24, 2015 at 5:40 am

Also, I'm wanting to get an adjustable bed frame. Do you think the Alexander firm will be too heavy for it? What is the weight of the mattress and would using it with an adjustable frame void the warranty of the mattress? Thx.

tc Says

October 24, 2015 at 5:02 am

Hi. The Alexander medium sounds great for me, but Im concerned if it will sleep hot, since it doesnt have the latex on top. Even sleeping warm will be a turnoff for me, since I'm used to innerspring mattresses. What do you think?

MattressNerd Says

October 7, 2015 at 1:51 pm

If the Leesa was just a little too firm, the Alexander Medium should be perfect. If it was way too firm, get the Soft.

MattressNerd Says

September 5, 2015 at 10:39 pm

FTC Disclosure: I am an affiliate for Amazon and would be paid a commission if you purchase from the link in this comment. I recommend against Stearns and Foster for two reasons. One, they focus on materials that sound luxurious but don't actually contribute to the comfort of the mattress. Two, they're what's called MAP products, meaning they're not allowed to be sold below a certain price, which makes it tough to get a great deal on them. As for a custom bed, luckily there's a fairly easy solution for you since you want a king. Two Twin XLs put next to each other exactly equal a king size. There is a slight height difference between the firm and the medium, but that shouldn't be too big of a deal. They can be connected by something called a "bed doubler" strap so they don't slide apart. Here's an Amazon link. Another solution, which is actually fairly similar, is to get the firm so he has the support he needs, and buy a mattress topper after, either for the whole king (if he complains about the firmness), or just for your half of the mattress.

Nicole Says

September 5, 2015 at 7:17 pm

Hi, Thank you so much for all the helpful info. I have learned a lot! I am having the hardest time finding a king bed for my husband and I. He is 6'5 and 380lbs and I am 5'4 and 165lbs. It seems all the research I have found show he should have a firm and i should have a medium. I worry that one of us will not be comfortable. I can't afford one of those custom-built beds that tailor each side to weight and height. Could you possibly recommend a couple beds to try out that will be suitable for us and not break the bank? We are both side/back sleepers. My husband will not be trying out beds in the stores, but I will. There is a Stearns and Foster I was looking at online--they do not carry here in Bakersfield CA locally. Thank you for any suggestions Nicole

JQ Says

September 5, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Thanks for the thorough, and not too technical, review. Very Helpful! Have you tried out and written the "Love" review yet? I've had some questions for Joe, and he's been very responsive and helpful with his answers, but i may be stuck in limbo-land between the firm and the medium. I also like the idea of the natural latex, rather than the memory foam under the quilting. Thanks again! JQ

MattressNerd Says

August 31, 2015 at 7:53 pm

In general, foam mattresses are just better than innerspring mattresses. Foam mattresses get higher customer satisfaction ratings, and if you haven't tried a foam mattress, I recommend trying one. If you've tried foam mattresses in the past and just can't get used to them, then Saatva is fine. If you're a side sleeper, I'd recommend getting the Plush Saatva, since even the luxury firm one is quite firm. But, if you've never slept on a foam mattress, try one of those before Saatva. There's a reason most people in the mattress industry end up sleeping on a foam mattress.

MattressNerd Says

August 26, 2015 at 3:28 pm

If you prefer a medium to medium soft mattress, the Alexander medium is definitely the one to get. The Leesa is on the medium firm side.

Phil C. Says

August 25, 2015 at 7:22 pm

Hi. Thanks for your review. I am 240 pounds 6'4" and of athletic build. I am trying to decide between the Leesa and the Alexander (Medium or Soft). I am predominantly a side sleeper but I occasionally sleep on my stomach. I am leaning towards the Leesa but I am concerned that it will be too firm for me, as I generally prefer a medium to medium soft (not very soft) mattress and it seems like you feel the Alexander medium is slightly softer than the Leesa. So I am curious what you would recommend for a side sleeper? Which do you find to be the most comfortable mattress?

MattressNerd Says

August 19, 2015 at 9:49 am

In general, foam mattresses have a little bit of a break in period, so if you just received it, as in less than a couple days ago, give it maybe a week or two to break in because it will likely get a little softer than it currently is. If you've had it for maybe a month and it's still too hard, then switching to the soft version might be a good idea (although, it might be too soft for your husband. You can always make a firm mattress softer by adding a topper to it. There's no way to make a soft mattress firmer).

Johnna Says

August 19, 2015 at 2:29 am

I just rec'd my Alexander in the medium and am approximately the same height and weight as Emily. I seriously think I'm headed toward returning for the softer version. The medium is fine for my 6' tall, 240 pound husband and to him is a medium feel compared to our Beautyrest Black luxury firm. Just my own personal thought. Their pillows are great once you get over the off gassing.

Susan Says

August 18, 2015 at 8:50 am

Thank you, sort of what I thought.

MattressNerd Says

August 18, 2015 at 8:34 am

The medium would be best, I think.

Susan Says

August 18, 2015 at 8:19 am

Thanks for the review. On your reviews I have chosen the Alexander and feel more confident with this choice. Now, I am a stomach sleeper with occasional side sleeping. I have tried hard not to sleep on stomach do to the advice of my Chiropractor, but to no avail. I took a sleep test and they said I am better on a firmer mattress but I don't like anything that feels too hard. I am 5'6 and weight 155 lbs. Which firmness would you recommend? I am ordering next month through your link.

MattressNerd Says

August 2, 2015 at 7:11 pm

The Leesa falls in firmness between The Alexander Medium and the Alexander Firm, and I suspect that the Alexander Medium would be the better option for you based on your body type. The Leesa does have a little more bounce back than the Alexander Medium, however you don't really get much of a quicksand feeling in the Alexander Medium because of the quilted cover. You're not directly on top of memory foam like you would be on, say, a Tempurpedic. Especially since you two are on the lighter side of the spectrum, I doubt you're going to sink far enough into the Medium for it to be a problem.

Emily Says

August 2, 2015 at 6:18 pm

I'm considering the Nest Alexander or the Leesa, but I was wondering about the difference in feel between the two. I'm about 5'4 and 110lbs, with somewhat bony shoulders and hips; my husband is relatively small and thin as well, although he carries a little extra weight around the middle these days. We're both mostly side sleepers. I'm leaning towards the Alexander Medium to accommodate us both. Sounds like it's about a 5-6 in firmness compared to a 3.5 for Leesa? I like the idea of Leesa's Avena foam layer for bounce to eliminate the quicksand feeling of the memory foam. How does the Alexander do in terms of bounce back?

Sign up for The Mattress Nerd newsletter: